astonishing splashes of colour

Thursday, June 10, 2004

Have to recommend this book, which I devoured this week on public transportation – Astonishing Splashes of Colour by Clare Morrall, which is BRILLIANT. It’s about loss and family and depression but not at all depressing. And was shortlisted for the Booker Prize too. Actually I read the winner recently too, Vernon God Little, and I have to say that I enjoyed this book a lot more. VGL was interesting but weird. This one I couldn’t put down.

Wow – we have a bathtub in. Mark worked on it last night from like 5:30pm to 2:00am and then again this morning. The good news is that we can take showers. The bad news is that we have to take them with the plug in and then he has to bail out the water. Gee I wonder how long we will have to live like that. I did keep telling him that I was going to be pretty useless at helping and he needed to get a neighbour involved, but whatever. The old extremely heavy and deadly metal bath is stuck in the hallway outside our bedroom where it shall remain for…let’s have a guess…3 years?

The slugs are eating all my plants! 😦 Only a few tomatoes and the mint are unscathed, plus some that I cleverly kept inside on the windowsill. I have to try to save them all now, and probably re-grow some from seed. The basil was growing like gangbusters but now it’s been all chewed on by the gross creatures. Oh well, I need a project anyway.

Thankfully the temp has gone down from 32 to 23, but it’s still humid and yuck.

One Response to “astonishing splashes of colour”

  1. Tater Tot Says:

    Thanks for recommending a book I can read on the plane ride home in August!!!!!!


Leave a Reply

