Hey, nice green

Friday, August 6, 2004

Odd to be posting in Canada as these messages seem to usually be about reminiscing about the homeland!! We are having a good holiday here so far. I have to admit that I wasn’t as excited to be coming home as I was at Christmas; this time it feels like we were just here, and I just saw everyone like the other day or something. I think I’ve only had one or two double doubles as well – last time was all about the food I was missing! So far, we’ve spent time with my mum, went down to Kitchener to see Grace and Kristen which was great, I got a bad sunburn at Guelph Lake, we got soaked on the Maid of the Mist when we did the super tourist visit to Niagara Falls, we saw Jen and Bill in Toronto who I hadn’t seen in 2 years, and now we have had the pleasure of meeting Samantha’s baby son Tate who is super cute and smiley. In fact you can see for yourselves.



This morning I found out that I have one OSAP payment left and I am done! YAHOO!! I fast tracked it in the past few months and have been putting about $1000 a month towards it. Now I can just save that money, maybe towards a move over here…



Mark is all obsessed with what kind of house he’s going to buy over here again. We were out for a walk the other night and took a look at a 4000 sq. foot model near my parent’s, and it was the most mental thing I have ever seen. No one needs bedrooms that big! Anyway, I don’t want it, and I am not going to live in Oshawa or anywhere east of Toronto, but it was nice to see what a lot less pounds than dollars can buy.



And in an hour – I must go and shower really – we are driving up to Tami’s cottage east of North Bay to hang out with her and Matti till Monday. On Monday we see Jean and Michelle in North Bay and meet their baby girl Isabelle, and then drive to my grandparent’s in Ottawa. Only one more week’s vacation to go, which sucks, but August will be quiet when I get back to work. The calm before the storm – when everyone gets back in September is when I have to start the scary management job!



Probably will check in again when back on British soil.

2 Responses to “Hey, nice green”

  1. Anonymous Says:

    you know, you could visit us here in peterborough on your way to ottawa or on your way back from ottawa… you’ll drive right by us!!

    jamie

  2. Anonymous Says:

    I know, I would have totally done that, but I had my mother and my friend and her baby in the car too, and it just wasn’t going to work out to stop anywhere. Sorry! Would have been cool, especially to meet the kids.


Leave a Reply

