Thursday, May 12, 2005

Went to Carluccio’s in St Christopher Place for dinner with Hilary last night; it’s a tradition that I when I have dinner with community partners from work in mental health that we always go to a branch! Well, it’s not bad food. They have a great bottle of wine there: VERDICCHIO CLASSICO, UMANI RONCHI, MARCHE that I just copied the name of from their website as I always forget it. It just goes down easy. And I always have the MILANESE DI POLLO, no idea why. Last night’s highlight was an especially good dessert – panna cotta flavoured with coffee and served with sticky caramel sauce. Yumma yum. Anyway, we had loads to catch up on, and there is lots of work to do soon on our big scarily high-funded and high targets project that starts next month. I think we are getting a website for that so I’ll be able to link to it soon.

It was nice to get out of course since we always go home now for the sake of the dog so we don’t deprive her of attention. As she is a MASSIVE attention seeker who can not bear to be without human beings.

I’ve had an interesting week being an inspector for our mock Adult Learning Inspectorate inspection at work. Me and the Head of HR holed up in his office for 3 days auditing paperwork on various departments including jewellery, fitness and dance. But I have learned a lot about things that I should be doing as a manager that they just don’t tell you when you get a job here…

I’m just getting wind of bad stuff happening with Paul Martin’s government? I don’t have a lot of time to read the newspapers online anymore so I am completely behind on Canadian news.

Better get back to work – I have a bonus day at my desk since I thought I would still be ‘inspecting’ today but we finished early so I can catch up on all the stuff I should have been doing this week.

Leave a Reply

