Tuesday, August 2, 2005

4 days till the wedding – the forecast looks good (warm but not hot), things are coming together in general, last minutes purchases are taking place (including a successful Brent Cross visit yesterday for Mark’s suit, shirt, tie and shoes that wasn’t even a bit painful), and the marquee is going up as I write…

So SOMETHING must be about to go wrong! Well a minor snag has been the poor Piper with her poor eye infection. We think she got it by playing in the sand that Mark had to put down to even out the garden for the marquee to go up properly. Her eye looks a lot better today (amazing what vets and meds can do) but I am hoping she is ship shape for Friday as she has her first kennel visit ever for two days and it’s not a good time for them to reject her on medical grounds. She just would not be able to handle 80 guests to play with…

My grandparents arrived Sunday from Ottawa and stayed with us that night, but we dropped them off to their B&B in Paddington yesterday. My parents are now back from Malta, so they are all coming over this afternoon. Probably offering help but there’s only really cleaning that they can help with and no point in doing that until the great shedding dog is in her kennel. Tami arrives Thursday morning, and we’ll pick her up from Gatwick. A lot of the UK family members get into town starting from tomorrow.

I’m about to go and get my 3-month old highlights sorted out at the high street hairdresser I have booked for Friday morning – who is so much more reasonable that the place a few doors down who was quoting me bridal hair and makeup starting from 160 quid!!! Holy bejesus! No thanks! I am still getting a friend of a tutor from work to do my makeup professionally at the house, which I am willing to pay for and quite happy to, but considering it’s not a big fancy do, I don’t need a grand hairstyle scattered with diamontes or whatever.

Mark finally realised that although he still has all his gear from when he was a DJ, and had intended to organise all the music, it really wasn’t going to happen with only a week to go and nothing done, so he relented and we managed to book a last minute DJ.

All I know is that I am going to be really happy when this is all over!! And I can stop waking up in the middle of the night thinking about seating plans and favour bags…

2 Responses to “”

  1. jamie Says:

    Emma, your day is going to be beautiful. I am so sad that I’m going to miss it!! You’d better post/send a TONNE of pictures!

    Hugs to you both!

  2. Anne Says:

    Dear Emma .It all sounds very well in hand and I hope that the day is special for you..that it does not just pass in a blur . You should be able to sit back and enjoy every minute of it as the p[reaprations are so good. i have enjoyed reading allabout it…Unfortunately we will miss you at the registry after all but will be thinking of you both and hope to meet again before long…with much love and best wishes for your future happiness Anne and Brian.


Leave a Reply

