Thursday, October 6, 2005

Okay Jamie, your wish is my command. I never did get around to getting any proper photos taken so I have just pointed the camera at myself with not very good results (so yes I have managed to fill the embarrassment quota). It’s a story of two halves – I should have photoshopped them or something:

So anyway, we are having a hell of a time getting a car seat (on its own or as part of a travel system) as nothing seems to be kosher with either the BMW back bucket seats, or the Mercedes estate’s slightly dipped back seats. We basically are going to go to Mothercare on Saturday morning and make them bring out every single brand of car seat they have until we find one that’s good. We have already attempted this at Babies R Us and Halfords and we are pretty sick of it! We thought that a Graco with its base would be okay but then it wasn’t. We liked a Mothercare brand travel system but then the car seat wasn’t going to work out at all. Basically, there’s not going to be choice based on styleishness of travel system – there is going to be whatever the hell we can get approved to fit in at least one of the cars!

I did something very silly last week. I accidentally won an auction for the world’s most expensive baby changing bag – the Fleurville Mothership (in the pink stripes). And, okay, ebay means I didn’t pay full price, I saved quite a bit of money, but I did pay WAY too much! It’s being shipped from the States. If this kid turns out to be a boy, it’s going to have some serious issues as now the sling and diaper bag are both extremely feminine in pattern. Oops. I don’t even have a good excuse. I’m likely not spending much time in London after the birth or anywhere interesting at all with our likely move to the country side so why do I even need such a nice bag?!

I’ve realised that actually my hair HAS stopped falling out and damn it’s really long right now. It’s crazy long. Like it hasn’t been this long in literally 14 years – grade 10 I think. I need a chop.

Lots and lots of kicks, as has been for the past few weeks, but nothing else is really new bump-wise. I have seen my sparkly swimming spots a few times, such as today in the car after Mark picked me up, but I am not sure what they mean if my blood pressure is fine. Have another GP appointment next week so I will discuss.

Mmm must run. It’s time for some dessert. Last night I discovered that if I eat some chocolate brownie Ben and Jerry’s at about 7pm, it gives me enough sugar and caffeine to be able to stay up late enough to watch both episodes of Lost! And it finally got really good last night…

7 Responses to “”

  1. Samantha Says:

    YAY Bump!!
    IT’s lovely. Don’t worry about the colour of the diaper bag since you’re having a girl, it won’t be an issue!

  2. Lisa Says:

    Hello bumpy! 🙂

    What about an ISOFIX car seat? You can check here to see if your car is compatible: http://www.britax.co.uk/

  3. mother of the kid Says:

    Lisa, oh we have tried. The BMW does have isofix compatability, but the Merc doesn’t (it’s a 1994) and so Mark talked to them, and they said they don’t crash test BMWs with their seats generally – all they can offer is some BMW specific seat and apparently it costs about £250!! Argh…

  4. jamie Says:

    Wow. Thanks for the bump picture!! If you were here, I would totally rub that belly, hee hee! man, don’t you hate it when people do that?

    LOVE the diaper bag. Why oh why didn’t I get something fun like that???

  5. Lisa Says:

    Oh, poosticks! 😦 What a pain!

    Hey regarding the baby bag, I never thought that it had to be gender specific. I think of mine like a handbag – I got one that I thought was cute, not one that was “boyish”, if you see what I mean. Yours is really lovely!

  6. Anonymous Says:

    Enjoyed a lot! here


Leave a Reply

