Tuesday, October 18, 2005

Had a GP appointment last night where she asked me if I had been consciously not trying to gain any weight in this pregnancy. No, I replied, I also didn’t consciously try to continuously vomit for a number of weeks and have many food aversions. Everything else is good however – except that my blood pressure is actually getting lower, which they don’t care about at all in this country, but we think it’s what’s causing my funny whirling silver spots (a.k.a. visual disturbances). I felt quite light headed this afternoon at work too.

Anyway, I think I compensated for not eating much for the past 6.5 months this past weekend (just hasn’t had time to get to my thighs yet) as it was gastronomically successful comparatively speaking. I ate, and I ate a lot, and I ate a LOT of calories (but so did Mark – v. bad). I made roasted pumpkin & carrot & garlic soup and croque monsieurs for Saturday lunch, and a giant fishy pie for Saturday dinner. We had eggs benedict for Sunday brunch (me of the fully cooked egg kind alas) made by Mark and I did a pork tenderloin roast for dinner. Saturday’s meals contained about 50 pints of double cream. Bad bad bad. But at least I ate, and used up some stuff from the freezer which we are trying to empty. See main blog for why.

I was told on a number of occasions today that I really have a bump now. It was really just the shirt I was wearing as it’s no different from yesterday.

We actually have quite a few items purchased now. Behold the chosen stroller and car seat. Mark’s dad has the moses basket, I’ve got the bedding to go with it, and we have a number of bits of clothing. Including all importantly 2 different sizes of Roots Canada hoodies, from birth. There’s still, of course, about a hundred other items to get but at least I feel slightly more materially prepared.

And I have decided not to use this blog to discuss leaky boobs…

🙂

5 Responses to “”

  1. jamie Says:

    Not discussing leaky boobs, eh? Just wait til you got a kid attached to it! You’ll be obsessed with boobs!

  2. Lisa Says:

    LOL but boobs and poo will be the only topics of discussion once the baby arrives! My top tip – don’t buy Mothercare breast pads. They are very scratchy! The Lansinoh ones are the best, but a bit pricey.

  3. tami 'n matti Says:

    leaky boobs? ugh. realizing fully that i know NOTHING about having children, i can still say that “leaky boobs” probably accounts for about 3 months worth of birth control. 🙂 just kidding. congrats on the purchases. that’s quite the stroller. i think you can buy small countries for what you paid though. 🙂

  4. emmainlondon Says:

    Tami, it’s called gift vouchers from the wedding. It was practically free!

  5. Anonymous Says:

    Wonderful and informative web site. I used information from that site its great. » » »


Leave a Reply

