Thursday, October 27, 2005

It’s apparently going to be 21 degrees today – nice and sunny right now, anyway. I’m at home today (called in sick as my hips are bugging me and I didn’t sleep much last night) so it’s giving me a chance to put some laundry out on the line and do a few things around the house. Except not too much or I will injure myself.

I’ve been packing mostly breakables up but it’s getting to be a bit difficult to do physical things so Mark is going to have to do most of the moving house this weekend – with some help from his mum tomorrow and his dad on Saturday and Sunday. It’s very bizarre that we are leaving here this weekend. Mostly because practically nothing is packed and I have no idea how we are going to be out of here on Sunday! (The closure date on the house sale is actually not until the 4th November but we took the rental property early so that we had more than 1 day to move everything)

Actually I’m about to have a blogging identity crisis – Emma is no longer going to be in London, except for 5 more weeks of working during the day. Do I have to change the blog name to Emma In the Middle Of Nowhere, UK (a.k.a. Dagnall, Buckinghamshire)? I don’t even know what the place is like – I’ve been once to see the rental property and I didn’t actually think at the time that we were going to take it. I think it doesn’t even have a corner shop. Fun times!

Mark actually has a job interview today – he’s just left for deepest Kent, like a 2 hour drive away. Luckily he doesn’t actually want the job, even though it is for Bxxxxxxxxx. He’s just doing it to get some interviewing experience as he’s now in the ‘talent pool’ at work – meaning, you’re not sacked but there’s not a job for you in our giant Metronet restructure although we’ll pretend to look for one for you, since we’d really like you to take some money and leave.

If I am lucky he might buy me some Tim Hortons donuts on the way home. However I am not going to push my luck as it turns out that the service station on the M25 is in like the worst possible place, the farthest possible place away from us, and it’ll probably add 3 hours to his journey just to go there.

Speaking of wonderful baked goods, I made bran muffins again this week, except this time with raisins and dried cranberries. And they are good. Also, very very exciting, I had my first Eggnog Latte of the season at Starbucks yesterday. I felt compelled to go in yesterday afternoon, wasn’t sure why, but my intuition paid off. It’s lucky I only have a few weeks of work left or I would be bankrupting myself purchasing one of those every day.

2 Responses to “”

  1. Lisa Says:

    Ohmygawd eggnog latte?! I MUST HAVE ONE!! With a Tim’s doughnut, of course.

  2. emmainlondon Says:

    Lisa, they are to die for. The only place to get the true grocery- store-eggnog-in-a-milk-carton flavour in this country (so far as I can tell). Now of course Mark has got me paranoid that it may not be pasteurised – but oh well!!


Leave a Reply

