Saturday, December 24, 2005

Just came in from taking the dog for a walk in the crispy leaves at Ashridge and it’s a balmy 10 degrees out there in the sunshine. This is the problem with spending Christmas in the UK – it sure don’t feel like it’s the 24th of December. However, there is a good chance of snow on Tuesday! Wahoo! I will be really excited. We only had about 5 flakes last year, which was entertaining as Piper was really young and she tried to eat them. I would enjoy romping in the snow with her (although I am unsure how much romping I am currently capable of!!). Plus it makes everything look nice. It’s much too green in the fields outside the window right now.

We were out early this morning so that Mark could finish his Christmas shopping (typical male) but luckily only had to go to the supermarket and not a shopping mall as that would be horrible today. He’s got to wrap everything tonight still, and we have some cooking to do as well.

We are spending tomorrow with his mum, step-dad, nan, sister, sister’s boyfriend, and sister’s boyfriend’s grandmother. We’re bringing along the cranberry sauce (my recipe – it’s good ’cause it tastes like sangria with orange zest and red wine, dead easy to make), some roasted celeriac (Mark has a thing for it), and smoked salmon with brown bread. I don’t like or eat the salmon but I am on bread duty. When we moved in I bought a bread maker, a Panasonic, which is universally acknowledged as a really good one, and there was a deal on at Amazon. I haven’t used it as much as I should but it’s pretty good and I need to fire it up tonight.

The thing the UK does really well at Christmas is put on lots of good television. I think that’s what most people must do here for the holidays – eat and gather round the telly! This afternoon and tonight, just on a couple of channels, we’ve got Harry Potter & the Philosopher’s Stone, Tomorrow Never Dies, the last in the current series of Little Britain, and Bridget Jones’s Diary. Tomorrow, Jamie & Jools Oliver are doing the alternative Christmas message while the Queen is on, there’s a new Doctor Who Christmas special, they’re showing The Importance of Being Earnest, and as per every xmas, a seminal episode of Eastenders. Excellent. I am also going to have to watch National Lampoon’s Christmas Vacation tomorrow night at 10 as that is the best.

We’re seeing his dad and step-mum on Boxing Day – they are coming here as I didn’t really want to stray too far at this time, and we are going out for a pub Christmas lunch in Berkhamsted. And the 27th, I think, will be shopping time…

Happy holidays.

2 Responses to “”

  1. Lisa Says:

    Emma, we’ve been to Tim Horton’s twice and I kept thinking of you! If there’s anything you need from Canada, please drop me a note and let me know. I’m happy to bring something back and post it to you when we return to the UK.

  2. emmainlondon Says:

    Thanks Lisa – really sweet but save your luggage space for your own treats! My mum is coming in March so I think I will be okay until then. Plus Tim Hortons coffee just does not taste the same when you make it at home – I need a freshly made double double, which I am going to have to wait for!!


Leave a Reply

