Thursday, December 29, 2005

Alright, so clearly expecting it to arrive late and planning a birthday party put us in good standing and now things are moving along a little faster than I had anticipated…

While watching Lost last night (third to last episode – but I have to wait two weeks for the final two episodes) at 11ish I realised that something funny was happening – either I was wetting myself without using muscles or it could be some waters breaking. However, it was just kind of happening every once in a while so I kept watching the show (hey, it was a good one). Got up to use the toilet and realised I really had completely wet myself except not with urine (I know you all want to hear this) so cleaned myself up and discretely called the hospital around midnight. They said to monitor the situation using a pad – if it gets saturated, call us back and you’ll have to come in.

Well, it was the middle of the night, and I knew that it continued to happen, but not at great speed, so I let Mark sleep and tried to get some sleep. I didn’t really get that much though. So I called the hospital again when he got up around 6:30, and informed him that wasn’t he lucky that he didn’t have to go into work on his birthday and we had to go into hospital.

So I got ready and then I swear waited about a half hour for him to come downstairs, only to find him dragging huge luggage with him (he has somehow ended up packing himself a bigger bag than me?!) – I’m like give me a break, can we just go, they are probably going to send us back anyway!

Which they did – however, waters have broken, which means they want this kid out within 24 to 48 hours, which means that if things don’t start on their own we have to go in for an induction tomorrow morning at 10 (23 hours from now…). Not great, but what can you do. It’s all strange as it’s not what I thought would happen. There’s no great gush of waters breaking like on tv; I just seem to be continually wetting myself without meaning to (lovely feeling). I’ve had some evidence of the ‘show’ this morning too so I guess it is falling into place. Thankfully nothing worse than a period cramp as far as pain goes though – definitely not in labour yet.

But they are going to want this to happen pretty quick (they worry about risk of infection when waters break before labour starts) so stay tuned…

And poor Mark, we had to cancel his party tomorrow night. Now he has something he can hold against the kid for the rest of its life, anyway!

4 Responses to “”

  1. jamie Says:

    Emma!!!

    I’m so excited for you! Can’t wait to see pics of the little bean!

  2. Maria Freeman Says:

    Typical you, being so stoic. Very exciting news – can’t wait to see photos of the little bubba.

    Thinking of you,
    Maria xxx

  3. mother of the kid Says:

    Thanks guys for the well wishes!

  4. Samantha Says:

    WAHOOOO!!
    I knew you’d be early. YAY.
    And remember ..ring of fire! Breathe sista. Good Luck.


Leave a Reply

