Monday, January 2, 2006

Our very yellow son – wow you can really see the jaundice in the photos from today! It’s due to the giant bruise on his head from the ventouse machine (I’ll post a nicely edited version of the labour story at some point), and it’s nothing to worry about (he’s been tested and doesn’t need treatment) but it ain’t attractive!

Today we had lots and lots of visitors, mostly bearing gifts for Oliver and Mark, leftovers from his 40th that didn’t happen. The only new people he met were his great aunt Iris, and Mark’s stepdad Ron; everyone else had been to the hospital already and were coming as repeats.

Last night we had a giant roast turkey dinner and I ate for England (hmmm…or Canada?). After having no appetite for 9 months I actually managed to clean off 1.5 plates. And I had two glasses of Asti. And it was GOOD.

Was meant to have a midwife visit this morning but she didn’t turn up until 4pm and it was mostly a running one. She was, however, very good at pointing out the obvious. He won’t wake up for a regular feed? Well put him down on his basket or change him (he hates both of these). He’s just very content sleeping while being held, and with so many people holding him today, he’s just been sleeping. So silly me, I need to wake him up some more.

Bad Mother already – as he hates the moses basket, in order for both of us to get some sleep last night, he ended up sleeping beside me on the bed in various arrangements. I know this is not great but otherwise how will either of us sleep? I asked the midwife for suggestions but she just said ‘if I had a five pound note for everyone who asked me that…’

Mark gets paranoid everytime he makes a sound that is different than usual. Or shakes a bit. Or still looks yellow. So luckily his sister has just completed her obs & gynae rotation in her medical studies and is continuously prodding Oliver doing all the paeds checks that they do. I am not worried, but hey, if Mark feels better, whatever.

It was SO nice to sleep in my bed last night though. And no hip pain, no heartburn. I don’t miss being pregnant. I am so enjoying being able to bend over and put socks on, and hug Mark from the front.

Thank you to everyone for loads of lovely messages – emails, blog comments, phone calls, etc. We are feeling spoiled as he can’t appreciate it for himself.

4 Responses to “”

  1. geepeemum Says:

    Congratulations! Sorry for the delay, I read your blog but had a couple of weeks without the computer! He looks lovely even if he is yellow!

  2. jamie Says:

    Nothing wrong with him sleeping beside you at all… for me it was just pure laziness! lol! Much easier to just roll over and stick a boob in the mouth than to get up, and blah de blah.

    You guys look great. I’m so happy for you!

  3. Anonymous Says:

    Excellent, love it! »

  4. Anonymous Says:

    Excellent, love it! » » »


Leave a Reply

