Friday, January 6, 2006

Sometimes we like the vibrating chair and sometimes we don’t…

I think the babymoon ended on Wednesday night (was it Wednesday? what day is it today?) when we had a terrible sleepless ordeal of feeding about once every 20 minutes and me unable to do anything to satisfy the bugger. So yesterday, Thursday, was a very grumpy tired and teary me. The days before that had been easy and full of quiet and fun trips out of the house. Now that seems like a bit much. However, last night was better and I am feeling human and normal again today. Somehow, though, today was the first day that I didn’t actually manage to get dressed. I did, however, have a fantastic bath at about 4pm with lavender and tea tree oil in it (Mark’s doctor trainee sister sent the lavender oil which was brilliant of her).

Despite the fact that both Mark and I are home and on our feet, and really don’t have much to do with Oliver except feed him/hold him/change him, it feels like there is loads to do and not much time to do it in. I don’t know where the days go. Right now, a week ago, I was experimenting with various forms of pain relief. In a few hours from now, he’ll be a week old.

Breastfeeding is having its up and downs but today (probably the sleep helps) I am feeling positive about it. I think I have gone through the pain barrier now (the kid has got suck) and we both know what positions work better than others.

I haven’t managed to get to the computer for a while so still loads of emails to answer – I will get there one day!

The dog is still trying to figure out what the small thing making noises in the moses basket/seat/our arms is, but one midwife that visited figured she was already being protective. All I know is that Piper is DYING to lick Oliver but I really can’t let her do that yet – there are enough other germs in this house to pick up on already before we get to the ripest dog saliva that I know of.

Still yellow, poor boy.

3 Responses to “”

  1. Samantha Says:

    OMG! I can’t believe how teeny he is. I can’t even remember Tater being that small. Oh makes me want to have another – a little – okay just a teeny tiny bit- ahh thankfully that moment has now passed. 🙂

  2. Anonymous Says:

    Keep up the good work » » »


Leave a Reply

