Thursday, February 2, 2006


I just attached his Whoozit to the chair, and lo and behold, he stared at it for ages and actually sort of tried to play with the dangly bits! Hurrah for developmental progress!

I was originally really worried about what would happen when Mark went back to work. This happened on Monday and it was a non-event in the end. It’s actually sort of a relief – I get up when I want to (or when Oliver wants me to), I don’t feel pressurised to get anything accomplished (not that he was pressuring me; it was of my own accord), and I am kind of enjoying having the house back to myself. Now I just need to re-organise the kitchen cupboards back to some sensical order as he managed to just throw things in at random when unpacking the dishwasher.

Plus Anne made everything wonderful on Monday, my first day alone, by coming up from London bearing gifts of wonderful food, a plant, and Oliver’s first picture book. As I said on Monday, she was like my surrogate mother and insisted on unloading and loading the dishwasher, and washing other stuff in the sink! On top of this she soothed a fussy baby in her much experienced way. It was a great afternoon.

I often think of myself as inherently lazy, but right now any spare moment (okay, bar time spent online) I am getting when Oliver is sleeping is taken up by tidying things around the house – not because I have to, but because I want to. I am finding great pleasure in doing things like cleaning the kitchen somehow. Very bizarre.

Last night, the boys watching tv:

5 Responses to “”

  1. jamie Says:

    Could you mail him to me so I can kiss his cheeks????

    I’ll send him back when he’s hungry!

    πŸ˜‰

  2. Anne Says:

    yes he is really lovely and it was great meeting him …so all you others who want to kiss him had better hurry on over! Anne xxx

  3. Sherri Says:

    Ahhh, tooo cute! It sounds so cliche, but they do grow too fast. It seems like not long ago my boy was that tiny. Now he’s 25lbs and 31 inches- hahaha.
    Thanks for posting a pic, he’s gorgous πŸ™‚

  4. Anonymous Says:

    Very cool design! Useful information. Go on! »


Leave a Reply

