Thursday, March 9, 2006

I realised at my first post-natal group that most of the other babies (and primarily the girls) seemed to be decked out in stylish clothes for our little get together (there’s only like 7 mums and babies, it’s a smaller group than normal apparently). So I felt a bit self-conscious (or Oliver-conscious rather) that we had only gone out in his sleepsuit. ‘Cause that’s what he normally wears. I don’t really see the point of putting his limited newborn/0-3 month wardrobe on him when he’s just going to spit up or leak poo on it.

However, I felt the pressure of keeping up with the Jones’s this Tuesday and dressed him properly.

Of course, he slept in his car seat the entire time of the group and no one even ended up seeing his stylish clothes anyway. Sigh.


I used to think that boys’ clothes couldn’t be cute like girls’ stuff, but since having him, I feel pretty good about the selection of clothes out there. In our house, it’s all about dogs (Piper), airplanes (Mark’s hobby) and trains (Mark’s work) so alot of boys clothes are highly appropriate!

Although most of you know I abhor the idea of sharing things with strangers, particularly in a group format (that was my most hated social work class too – group work, argh!), I am glad I am going to the post-natal group. I have already learnt a lot, and the other mums seem like nice normal human beings. And, the girl from my village who is driving me there now is really nice, and has encouraged me to come to the mum and toddler thing they have at the village hall just to get out of the house, so I might start doing that after our group finishes.

With Grandma here, he’s been better bathed, fed and watered than at any time I think. And, me too!

4 Responses to “”

  1. tami 'n matti Says:

    OMG he is so cute! i love the hoodie!

  2. Lisa Says:

    Hee hee! Too cute! Bah, Jack was in a sleepsuit for most of this first 3 months. I’m with you – no point in dressing up a newborn. I’m glad you’re enjoying the post-natal group! Although I’m not big on mummy/baby groups, I have made some good friends from our antenatal classes.

  3. Sherri Says:

    Adorable!!!!!

    I was never one to dress up Cooper either.

    Glad the class is going well! Thoses classes were a savior for me. To get out and meet other moms made a world of difference. And a small group sometimes can be better as you get to know each other more.

  4. Kristin Says:

    He is so adorable. We almost named Nolan Oliver so I have a soft spot for the name.

    His socks are pretty stylish, too!


Leave a Reply

