Monday, March 13, 2006

Crazy few days…but Oliver’s naming day turned out to be a good yet low-key party attended by about 50 people in the end. It was a bit manic as we set up the hall, did the catering and cleaned up (along with some help from my mum and Mark’s parents and the celebrant Elaine) but in the end it all worked out. And we got rid of some more wedding leftover booze (the whole point of the celebration, in my opinion).

These were Mark’s and my promises to Oliver:
MARK: Oliver, as your parents, we promise to protect and nurture you, but also to encourage your independence and development of your sense of self.
EMMA: We promise to teach you the values of honesty, generosity, respect, humility, and forgiveness. We also promise to teach you the best about both England and Canada as your two nationalities are an important part of who you will become.
MARK: I will teach you the importance of pre-flight planning, even though I don’t know how to do it myself, and your mum will teach you to how to become a master chef in your spare time. We will allow you the freedom to follow whatever path you choose – as long as you become a doctor, dentist or lawyer.
EMMA: Whomever you turn out to be, Oliver, we will always love you and support you (even if you do wake us up at 2am).

I got to hang out with my friends from work, and Oliver got passed around to I don’t know how many people so I barely even saw him all night. But he was good. He even lastest until we all went to bed at 1am and slept in the next day.

Me, my Grandma Bowman (my dad’s mum), my mum and Oliver:

The cakes:

The matching shirts (poor embarrassed child):

6 Responses to “”

  1. Anonymous Says:

    Lovely picture of four generations….just makes me even more unhappy that I couldn’t be with you all.

    Husband / Dad / Grandad

  2. Lisa Says:

    Sounds like it was a lovely day! Those t-shirts are hilarious.

  3. tami 'n matti Says:

    i love the pictures! emma, you look GORGEOUS! i wish i was there! i hope you got my promises on time?

  4. Samantha Says:

    Dude – your hair is ridiculously long -it looks beautiful.
    Ollie Bollie is cute as ever!

  5. Jeni Says:

    Those T-shirts are great – are they from Twisted Twee? I got Colin and Matthew some which read “Pint” and “Half Pint” for Fathers Day last year. Needless to say, they still haven’t worn them yet.

  6. mother of the kid Says:

    I need to chop the hair off as he’s already pulling it out. However, when will I get to a hair dressers???
    Jeni – yep, I love Twisted Twee. I got Mark Mr&Mrs pillow cases when we got married, and had to force him into his t-shirt for the naming ceremony. He unforunately doesn’t appreciate the thoughtfulness of the gift!!!


Leave a Reply

