Monday, March 27, 2006

For the third year in a row, we’ve gone away for the weekend for a function of Mark’s. Last year and this year were at this fantastic hotel in Ventnor on the Isle of Wight – there’s a good photo of it on my blog from last year (when it was sunny and nice as opposed to this year’s rain). The hotel is one of the nicest places I’ve ever stayed at. The food is absolutely incredible – I’ll even eat things there I don’t normally like as I know it’ll be good, and the service is impeccable. Too bad we won’t be here to go again next year.

This function also means that I have to dress up. So, once a year I bring out the old high heels. They really are old heels as I bought them about 5 years ago for about 4 bucks at a Zellers or something in Sudbury with Jean and Michelle. And have literally worn them about 5 times. I can’t do heels. But interestingly, I did notice on Saturday night when I had to wear them that they actually seemed kind of comfortable. So I suppose I am finally breaking them in and perhaps if I find a reason to wear them for one night in 2007, they might feel pretty good.

Forgive me for this photo. Feet are pretty yucky.

While we were there, we did a little shop at the Garlic Farm, a haven for foodies. I put together a gift basket of local shortbread (not garlic) and chutneys (containing lots of garlic) for Chula and Elaine who were dogsitting for us, and we also got some garlicky sauce for Mark’s mum. We took home an oak-smoked garlic which I am planning to use in some nice recipes they provided for roast chicken and mashed potato. I’d seen them at Borough Market before but this is the first time I have bought one. It was a nice little diversion and something to do in the rain. Thankfully last year was very sunny and we did lots of sightseeing on the island then.

Leave a Reply

