Monday, April 24, 2006

Ages ago, I mentioned that I wanted to switch to reusable/cotton/’real’ nappies for Oliver and I had decided on Kushies. Well, here we are at almost 4 months on and he’s still in disposables. Except not today…

After I had discussed switching with Mark and the financial savings in doing so, he calculated that actually using Tesco nappies (our favourite) was really cheaper. Mind you, Oliver was in size 1 newborn diapers at the time, which are really cheap. If you actually calculate the cost of doing laundry here, the price of utilities (ever increasing) makes it not that wonderful.

But, in the interest of saving some space in the landfill, local councils here will give you 30 pounds towards the cost of any real nappies that you buy, and so I sent away for the relevant paperwork ages ago. I was sent back a kit that had details of the Bucks Area Reusable Nappy Support Group, local parents who will lend you sets of nappies to try out for free. I tried to contact them without any success, and sort of left it for a while.

We were recently in Waitrose in Brent Cross, and they had a special 4 for 3 offer on Motherease One Sizes (another Canadian nappy company like Kushies) and their covers – of course, when I got excited about this and tried to pile them in my shopping basket, I realised they had no nappies and only covers in stock. But we did eventually get to a more local Waitrose and I bought 4 nappies and one Airflow cover. And they are free as they cost exactly the amount of the grant. However, it’s only enough for like one days’ use.

I tried it on him the next day at a time when I thought he’d only be liable to pee (my first mistake). It seemed a bit big, but when he did fill it (as you do when your mother expects you won’t), it didn’t leak. Of course, I had no nappy bucket or anything at the time so we had to make do with the bucket normally used with the mop, and a prayer that soaking it in some Napisan would help. It did – both cover and nappy came out wonderfully in the wash the next day.

Fast forward to today and he’s on Motherease number 2 of the day. And the BARNS group contacted me this morning and they are going to lend me a kit that already has Motherease nappies (cause they like them) and other brands in them when we get back from Spain in mid May. And the woman on the phone was extremely helpful and told me to fold down the top in a certain way which makes it fit better on him as he’s kind of still pretty skinny.

I’m not sure if we’ll ever switch entirely, but at least I won’t be throwing out quite as many diapers as normal. Oliver and I seem to go halfway on everything – still both breast and formula feeding, now both disposable and reusable nappies on his butt.

Only problem with these nappies? They give him a giant bum!

7 Responses to “”

  1. jamie Says:

    Ah yes, the giant bum DOES take getting used to!!

    I never soaked my cloth diapers though… just threw them in the bucky (dumped out the poop) and washed them when the bucky was full. Never had any problems!

  2. Samantha Says:

    I loved MotherEase – I’ll see if I can find some for you and pass them along. Yeah it was the giant bum that made me into a landfilling ho!

  3. Lisa Says:

    Hee hee hee! The nappy is 1/3 the size of Oliver! Love it. 🙂

  4. Anonymous Says:

    Looking for information and found it at this great site… » »

  5. Anonymous Says:

    Cool blog, interesting information… Keep it UP » » »


Leave a Reply

