Wednesday, May 10, 2006

We got back home on Sunday afternoon, and I think we are both glad to be here. Trying to get Oliver back into normal routine but he seems to be fighting it a bit.

The trip was generally a success though. We learned that having lots of hand baggage is a really really bad idea unless you have about 10 hands. But other than that Oliver enjoyed the airports and plane rides (lots of people to flirt with, particularly EasyJet staff in bright orange uniforms) and mostly had a normal week. He settled in the travel cot provided pretty well and even enjoyed some Spanish formula when his UK stuff ran out.

He didn’t like the pool at all – I think it was too cold! (thankfully the damn useless floatie seat was on sale when I wasted the money on it).

But did not object to toes in the Med.

More pics of the trip, including more of the boy, on my flickr photos here.

I mentioned briefly a couple of weeks ago that we started him on a bit of baby rice. It was totally early, I’m very very bad – they don’t want people to wean their kids until they are 6 months old now. But he was watching us eat intently, chewing on his hand, and showing less interest in his milk. And he’s lapped up the food. On Monday, we moved on from rice to veggies and the steamed and pureed organic carrots were a success!

Now how long do you think it will take me to stop cooking for him and start buying jars??

2 Responses to “”

  1. tami 'n matti Says:

    emma, he is so sweet he brings tears to my eyes! your spain trip looks amazing and you guys look like you are having so much fun!

    i have printed a bunch of oliver’s pictures and have them posted on my tackboard in my office. my clients think he’s my kid. tee hee…

  2. mother of the kid Says:

    Do you wanna keep him? I can leave him there in July??


Leave a Reply

