Thursday, August 24, 2006

In 2 months today, Oliver and I will arrive in Canada, and we won’t have a return ticket. And Mark and Piper and possibly Piglet will be joining us a few days later. The move is real.

A move back to Canada is so much more complicated than my move here 4 years ago. I arrived with 2 very large and heavy suitcases that Air Transat didn’t even charge me extra for – ’cause a nice guy dealt with me at Pearson. That SO doesn’t happen anymore.

What do I return with? Oh, just a little more. A husband, a baby, a dog, a cat, and a household full of stuff even when we ditch most of it in the next few weeks. I am not sure how we are supposed to be ready for it to happen in just a matter of weeks. We’ve pretty much been in denial up until a few weeks ago.

The next few weeks will consist of trying to spend as much quality time with his family as possible so they don’t completely hate me, organising a party for the end of September/ beginning of October to see everyone to say goodbye, trying to sell any belongings that still have some life left in them, and making many many trips to the dump or charity shop to get rid of the rest. Oh, and deciding on how we are going to ship what is left, and figuring out where to store it when we get there. We are going to be staying in my parents’ basement until we sort ourselves out so we can’t really have a lot with us there.

Mark’s permanent resident visa has been done for a while. Oliver’s citizenship application is sitting on someone’s desk in Nova Scotia gathering dust, so the High Commission here is going to grant him a temporary passport which we have just sent away for.

I am feeling the stress. We are both worried about getting jobs. We have a lot of money put away from the house sale last year, but we shouldn’t be living on it for long as it needs to go towards a house there; that was the whole point – move back to Canada for the cost of housing, for not having a mortgage. So if one of us doesn’t get a decent job (how much would I love it if I got the good job and Mark stayed home with Oliver? I would be doing a happy dance) what is going to happen? I guess we still have no mortgage, which is good, but just not a lot of other income if we have resorted to McJobs.

I am also going to a foreign country. I might have been born and spent 25 years living in Ontario, but I still haven’t done basic things there like buy a house, have a real full-time job, buy a car or deal with banking above and beyond having a silly normal account. These are things I know more about in the UK. In this country, I know what to do to sign Oliver up for nursery or school or a doctor. It’s all new to me at home. I called Canada home today, like normal, and then kind of winced because really, I have made this my home and I am going to miss it.

We’ll be back here as often as we can be – all holiday (all pathetic amounts of holiday, that is) will be used to visit Mark’s family, to give them as much time with Oliver as possible. But I am quite sure I can make a long list of all the things that I am going to miss that are different that I have become very accustomed to.

So the adventure begins soon…

4 Responses to “”

  1. Jaden Says:

    Yay!! I’m so glad you’re really coming back! Let me know if there is anything that I can do to help…can’t wait to see you guys again!

  2. Tea & Margaritas in My Garden Says:

    Best wishes to you and your family as you re-discover living in Canada.

    tea
    xo

  3. Gavin Says:

    Talk about carbon copy – I thought my wife had written that post!

    I don’t know if you’re following my blog, but we’re two months into our arrival in Canada and still looking for jobs (although we didn’t really start looking until a month ago).

    I don’t know what your fields of expertise are for jobs or where you’ll be living. There are jobs out there in Ontario, but it REALLY depends on what your skills are.

    I haven’t ruled out a McJob yet, but I am still optimistic.

    Like you we have money from a house sale that we’re basically living off of right now, but hoping we can get work soon so it can go towards a house here.

    If you need to run anything by me, give me a shout – my email is in my user info.

  4. louisa Says:

    hey emma have been reading your blog for a while. have o say although i do not have the husband kid and dog. i do have the cat myself and unbelievable amount of ‘stuff’ i to am heading back to the great white north in 2 months after being away for 5 years. you are right it is like going to a foriegn country !!
    i to came with 2 very over filled suitcases and 400 pounds, lived ina youth hostel for a few months. now as i go throug the smaller amount of panic you are going through i look at my flat and think ‘ when did i buy all of this !!!’
    i wish you and the family luck on your return to canada and i am sure you will all do just fine ! you really will ( just drink occasionall to deal with the stress )
    best of luck emma mark oliver and asorted pets


Leave a Reply

