Tuesday, August 29, 2006

I’ve got Blogger issues big time.

I was tempted by the opportunity to try Beta Blogger, with loads of new features!, and decided to switch both my blogs over (this one, and this one).

The migration was meant to be easy. For this one, I logged in under my Blogger user name that was used for this blog only, and then it asked for my Google account details which were to be used as my new login. Not a problem, I have a Gmail account (although I don’t use it very often). This one got switched fine – except for losing my template changes. But that’s my fault. Plus the good thing about Beta is that it’s a lot easier to modify your blog and make it your own rather than looking like a bog standard Blogger template.

Okay, so on to the next one. I had a seperate login for Oliver’s blog. I logged in, used the same Google account details as previously, and poof. It’s gone. I mean, the blog is still there. But the details of the blog are not available on my dashboard/Blogger homepage. I can’t login to post using my Google account details or my previous login details. I emailed the Blogger team about it last week and have heard nothing back. I don’t know what else to do other than start again.

So when I have like 50 million hours on my hands, I guess I am going to cut and paste every single post from Oliver’s current blog to the new one. And lose all the comments and such. Sad and annoying.

Unless I suddenly hear from someone and they fix it for me, or someone out there has another idea. I don’t know if I enabled the feature where you can post via email on that site or not, and I wouldn’t know the address if I did. Any good hacks out there who could break into it for me?

Just in case, this is up and running (god it took me forever to find a domain name that hadn’t been taken!!).

2 Responses to “”

  1. Gabby Says:

    Blogger was just annoying me no end so I changed to Livejournal recently. I’d actually had an LJ account for a while but not used it because I thought Blogger was better, but it all fell apart a few months ago and I haven’t looked back.

  2. Tea & Margaritas in My Garden Says:

    I wonder if they might do it on purpose after one`s had a blog for a long while? That way either they lose them or they upgrade to a paid. There`s gotta be a glitch to all this free blogging somewhere.

    tea
    xo


Leave a Reply

