Thursday, October 12, 2006

Today was Mark’s nan’s funeral. We ended up bringing Oliver along in the end, so I was pretty preoccupied with keeping him happy and quiet (until the wake, when I just let him charm everyone and eat anything). I’d never actually been to a funeral at a church with a burial in a cemetery (I’ve been lucky enough to only attend 2 funerals in my life and one was for someone I didn’t know, Mark’s co-worker). It really hits you when you see a coffin and someone you know is in it. It’s weird anyway as the last time I saw Nan was some weeks before she went in hospital, and every time Mark visited her in there I stayed with Oliver, so for me it just feels like I haven’t seen her in a while and she wasn’t actually put in the ground today. Still sad though. Wake was good, however – it’s a rather opportune time for us to have all his family together and to be able to spend time with them. And we had some fun watching Oliver and Katie play.

In other news, I highly recommend Ebay next time any of you need to seriously de-clutter. People really will buy anything. We are basically going to have paid for our international move and then some, possibly. And it’s not really like we feel we are giving up anything! The stuff we like is still coming with us (except electricals, which just can’t come with us).

Leave a Reply

