Saturday, November 4, 2006

Today I went to a Pampered Chef party with my mother. It was bad enough that I didn’t know anyone there (I hate situations that are full of strangers) – we had the cooking demo with product pushing and unfortunately this woman (girl? same age as me?) really didn’t know how to cook or use the kitchenware. She tried to cut soggy defrosted asparagus with a crinkle cutter that couldn’t pierce the veggies despite using it as a giant saw. Then she tried to cut parsley with a pizza cutter – why?!?! She is just starting out as a seller but I was pretty unimpressed with everything. The products don’t seem to be unique, and you can get the same kind of stuff at many kitchen stores for a lot less money. What is the appeal of being locked in someone’s house, captive, and feeling that you should dish out for something that you may not use very often?? I am going to be getting a measuring cup in my Christmas stocking as we felt my mother HAD to buy something. Hated it. Hated it.

Except didn’t hate the delicious nacho and spinach dips, and punch. Mmm I missed Canadian party food.

The rest of life is consumed by car test driving, and car price negotiating. Beginning to hate that too…

One Response to “”

  1. Gabby Says:

    That party sounds utterly awful…

    We haven’t done any car testing yet – the first car we bought was too much of a steal to not just lay down the cash and buy it right there and then, so we weren’t in a position to be choosy. I’m sure we’ll be a bit more picky with car number 2.

    Also, wait until you start house hunting – I liked it to start with, but was really not enjoying it in the end…thank heavens we have found a place now and this is our first weekend without having to view a house!


Leave a Reply

