Tuesday, November 7, 2006

So we started off looking at Volvos (the XC 90 SUV) as Mark was convinced that they were safe and reliable and that’s what we want in a car and plus we have a family and a dog and we are in North America so it better be big. But big without TOO much guilt as it’s a Volvo so they make sure that if an XC 90 hits a smaller car, there’s something about the way it’s built that reduces damage (apparently) and it doesn’t have horrible fuel consumption.

But then there was the issue of price, despite the fact we were looking at used vehicles (we’re not rich enough for a new one, people). So we started looking elsewhere – BMW X5 too much money here, even used; Suzuki Grand Vitara we both liked; Toyota RAV 4 made me sing the ‘I see you baby shakin’ that ass’ song as it looks a lot like a Renault Megane in the new model and I don’t like it; Mazda something or other I never got a close look at as I was in the rental car with the baby and the dog; and there was probably more than this we looked at (oh yeah, a Kia!) but I can’t remember, it’s all blurred, and it all took too long.

Mark was originally negotiating with a Volvo dealer that was fairly local. Neither of us liked how it was going for a 2003 model when I found loads of 2004’s for a similar price. Today we drove out north of Toronto and bought this from there instead:

I think Mark didn’t even negotiate as hard this time as we are just tired of looking and it was raining and come on people and it was what he thought he wanted, even with questions about service history items on the 2003 model (what happened to Volvo’s reliability?). So he’s not that happy with what he walked out paying for this 2004 Volvo XC 90 with seven (SEVEN!) seats – but I am happier with this one than the 2003 at the other place. And I am saying to him, what the hell, big item 1 is now off the checklist – now we can sort out some employment. I’ve actually got a couple of jobs I’d like to apply for if I can find some time to sort out my CV/ resume.

Let’s hope something happens on the job front soon. I feel like we are haemorrhaging money. Start up costs have included new toiletries all around, weekly groceries (at least it’s cheaper than Tesco), a new mattress as I couldn’t sleep on my old futon without waking up in pain all night and walking around like an old woman the next day, and some stupidly frequent eating out due to all this car test driving and such. At least we have actually gone to the leisure centre once after paying for a 3 month membership. Once. Oliver had a great time in the pool. Must go at least 3 or 4 times a week now to justify the price.

3 Responses to “”

  1. maria Says:

    ooh, good choice – those are very nice. you’ll have to let me know what you think.
    glad to hear you’re settling in – can’t wait to see you. m x

  2. emmainlondon Says:

    I had a dream the other night that we visited you and Joel so believe me it’s on my mind! No idea when it will be possible, of course… but I am thinking about it!

  3. Gabby Says:

    We’re not sure what to get for car No.2…our little Chrysler Sebring is an OK putaround car, but in the long run we’ll need something closer to what you’ve got. I’m dreading the snow in the Sebring too!

    I know what you mean about spending money hand over fist initially. We still are somewhat, but hopefully it will settle down once we’re moved into our new house.

    Still, it’s all quite exciting isn’t it? Good luck with the job hunt!


Leave a Reply

