Sunday, November 26, 2006

I think I need to hire a personal assistant. I need someone to remind me of a few things:

  • to not bother saving money when buying chicken breasts with the bone-in because it’s just really annoying to remove them from the bone, forget the pennies saved and just get them boneless for christs’ sake
  • to not blog about houses that I get emotionally attached to and then aren’t ours
  • to get Oliver out and about with other kids and in activities as opposed to having him spend his days in cars and strange houses while the adults stress about everything and pretty much just ignore him while he flirts with estate agents as I am quite sure that he is developmentally lagging and it’s my fault
  • to find adults for me to talk to so that my vocabulary might return to its previous state and something vaguely intelligible, more than ‘Is that funny, Oliver? Are you funny? Are you eating your shoes?’, might come out of my mouth tomorrow in my scary job interview and at any following job interviews or professional situations

Or I should just read what I write.

5 Responses to “”

  1. Sueellen Says:

    I recently started reading your site and wanted to say good luck with your interview today!

  2. tami Says:

    good luck today em! i’m routing for you! alas, if the house is not yours, than it wasn’t meant to be. think of it as some non-divine intervention or something. maybe the place is riddled with termites and disease hoarding rodents. you’ll be happy that you didn’t get it. besides, there is LOTS out there. when you find the place that you’ll ultimately end up in, you’ll be all, “i’m SO glad that the other place didn’t work out.” cheers!

  3. Gabby Says:

    I blogged about every house we wanted that fell through…I decided I preferred to get the sympathy! Stuff the superstition!

    In the end we’ve got a house we love far more than the two we lost out on…I’m sure you’ll feel the same when you finally get one!

  4. jamie Says:

    Sorry to hear about the house, Emma… You know, you could always live in my scary basement!

  5. Sandy Kerr Says:

    Em, do NOT, repeat NOT, feel badly about the house. You have to stop and think of it as just a ‘house’ versus HOME.
    Home is wherever you are with your family, be it still living at your parents while you find your true wanted home, or whether you end up renting something while still searching for your own.
    Home is Mark and Oliver with YOU. Home is wherever YOU are, house is 4 walls and a roof overhead, it takes family moving in to make it a home. So you’ve just lost a house, not a home.
    Keep looking, hopefully one of you will find a job first, then you can pick the right locale to live in so the travel will be easier.
    But being ‘home’ revolves around you, as you live wherever, and actually make ‘wherever’ your home not just a nice house to live in.


Leave a Reply

