Sunday, January 7, 2007

I think the birthday party was a success. I ended up with a splitting headache, however as…

  1. I stayed up until about 11:30pm the night before baking the cake (used Nigella’s buttermilk birthday cake recipe again), making hummus (from scratch because I am mental), and instructing Mark on chopping vegetables for salsa. Also I made 16 goodie bags so the adults would have some too.
  2. I had little sleep, and when I did sleep I dreamt about the party being a complete disaster. I woke up at 6:30 and got up at 7am to starting the rest of the cooking – making icing for the cake (using Nigella’s recipe and the chickie is right – it was too sweet), and making lasagna, and getting all other foodstuffs ready.
  3. At the same time as this Mark and I had put an offer on the house the night before, and had to leave at 4pm Saturday afternoon to go and sit with our agent and get into heavy negotiations (no we do not have a house, we didn’t end up buying it but it’s cool – it’s only worth it to me personally as a bargain buy).

Anyway, despite my aching noggin, I think everyone had a pretty good time. Few kids but lots of adults, lots of food, lovely gifts and a cake with so many candles on it we almost called the fire department. We really appreciate those who made the journey from far away places like K-W and/or brought all three kiddies including a beautiful little newborn called Talya who I haven’t blogged about yet (congrats Jamie and Jason!).

My dad used one of his Christmas toys, a fantastic new Canon digital SLR, and took some great photos. I’ve put my favourites on Flickr and you can see them in a slide show here.

2 Responses to “”

  1. Sandy Kerr Says:

    Your pic inserts were terrific, its like being at your party all over again. Everyone was very photogenic too. Oliver is obviously excited and having a great time – perfect. Also loved the film of him going up the stairs, so happy and proud of himself. Fantastic pics Em.

  2. Jaden Says:

    Happy Birthday Oliver!!! Sorry we missed your party. It looks like you guys had a great time!

    From Jen & Jaden


Leave a Reply

