Sunday, April 1, 2007

It’s been rather hellish around here for the last couple of weeks. 2 weeks ago, Oliver was really sick with pinkeye and a nasty cold and became clingy and completely unlike himself, while Mark got a chest infection. Last week, Mark went away on business for 4 days, Oliver’s cough got worse and worse (last Monday night, he coughed from 10:30pm to 3:30am), and I started vomiting everywhere. Even the dog vomited at one point. We’ve both had a load of time off of work, which is fine for Mark but is so not okay with me – I am only on contract and I’ve only worked there for 2 months and I’ve already had 8 days off ill and I’m not entitled to any of them. And it doesn’t really bode well for going permanent if I am so unreliable! My boss is incredibly understanding; my co workers couldn’t be more supportive. But I still feel like garbage about it.

Anyway, I am hoping that this week, this short week, will go okay and we’ll have a nice long weekend to continue to rest and get the house in order. I was desperate to go on holiday for Easter – when would I not take advantage of a 4 day weekend? We were always away at Easter when we lived in England. We almost went to Pennsylvania. We could have made other plans within Canada. But I think it’s a good idea for us to just stay at home, continue to recover from illness, and continue to set up house. And I’m going to spoil myself a bit on Easter Monday as Oliver’s daycare is open – so I’m going to get my hair done and go shopping and stuff.

2 Responses to “”

  1. Catwoman Says:

    Wow, sounds like you guys went through a really rough patch! Hopefully everyone’s doing better now and you all get spoiled with lots of chocolates by the Easter Bunny.

  2. M Says:

    Good idea on the R&R – soak it up! Hope health makes a strong come back in your family.


Leave a Reply

