Thursday, July 12, 2007

I have this reputation at work for not being excited or positive about anything. But I am ecstatic about this weekend!

Take a combination of…

  1. The first time we’ve gone on holiday together since we moved to Canada.
  2. The first time I’ve been allowed to take time off work (had to do 6 months’ time first).
  3. The first time we’re visiting one of the big important cities of the world (New York).
  4. A reunion with great friends Emma and Mark (from near Cardiff, Wales) and Maria and Joel. The first time we’re seeing Maria and Joel since our wedding almost 2 years ago. Thankfully, we did go and stay with Emma and Mark before we moved from the UK.
  5. The first time we get to meet little Eleni, Maria and Joel’s daughter.

And yep, that’s a damn good trip to look forward to. I don’t have many sightseeing goals for the weekend, as the important thing is to catch up with great old friends (Emma, Maria and I worked together in dreary Dagenham when I first moved to London – getting on for 5 years ago now) and entertain the small children, but I would like to get Oliver to Central Park Zoo as he just so obsessed with animals lately.

We’re staying at what looks like a very nice hotel, the Marriott Financial District. Slightly creepy in that it’s next door to the World Trade Centre, but I hope for view of the river instead. Or even other buildings. The reviews on tripadvisor are pretty good, and we got a fairly good deal with a combination American Airlines flight and hotel stay. Still a very expensive trip for only 4 days, but I didn’t expect any less going to New York City.

And next week, after we get back – a hell of a lot of work to do to make our house vaguely acceptable for a whole lot of people to come over for a housewarming party combined with a birthday party for me. Oh yeah, I am turning 30 in like 5 days.

It doesn’t bother me, I’m already an old woman. But I did get a little drastic with my hair this week, thinking that I didn’t want to look completely frumpy with bad roots for the trip, for the party – just generally degenerating into non person with too many children and not enough time. This unfortunately has resulted in red hair (it was just meant to be brown to deal with the roots) and a new cut I need to get used to. The hairdresser did a good job, and it was a good price considering I went to a place at Yonge and Bloor, but I am really not used to having bangs. The rest of the layers are a big improvements.

Better go and pretend to do some work for the rest of the day (while actually visiting more touristy-websites)…

One Response to “”

  1. Suburban Mum Says:

    HAPPY BIRTHDAY!!!!!!!!!!!


Leave a Reply

