Wednesday, August 1, 2007

I finished the last Harry Potter book last night.

I actually didn’t start reading it until Friday night. I had pre-ordered it back in March but they didn’t ship it until Tuesday or something, and then I couldn’t get to the post office until Friday after work.

I read a couple of chapters that night, which left my head spinning. Usually Rowling sort of builds up to the action. This book starts at a running pace and doesn’t stop. I didn’t know how I was going to get through it as I don’t have a huge attention span right now, and I tend to read when I am tired (like on the subway in the morning or last thing at night).

But yesterday morning, I had about half of the book left, and I kept finding articles online I wanted to read, but I didn’t want to look at for fear of spoilers. So I ploughed through it yesterday, on the subway, and did about 2 hours dedicated reading last night. It helped that there was nothing decent on tv.

I am ashamed to say I actually cried at the end of it.

**(No major spoilers, but don’t read on if you don’t want to know what happens at the end)**

Not because of the deaths or the non-deaths or even the cheesy but fulfilling epilogue (now why couldn’t have Jane Austen told us what happened to Darcy and Elizabeth 19 years later) but mostly because it’s been quite the ride with those characters and suddenly it was at an abrupt end. I don’t read fantasy books like that, I don’t read much literature aimed at children/young adults for my own personal enjoyment (only stuff for Oliver for his use), but I’ve enjoyed the series and Rowling really did a great job with the whole arc of the story.

So I sort of wish I had paced it out a bit more now. The ending left me with a night of completely Potter-filled dreams, of snippets of stories about the characters, and lots of tossing and turning. I think I need to quickly read something else to get them out of my head or something.

Leave a Reply

