Thursday, September 20, 2007

Evidence! (btw, it was pitch black in his room at the time – it seems our camera has a very effective night scene setting!) He’s been so great at sleeping in his bed. The best part is that he still treats it like his crib, so he hasn’t yet tried to climb out of bed when we haven’t been around. We’ve got to put a baby gate on his door just in case he does suss it out at some point, but for now, all is well. And this week he’s been sleeping and settling down to sleep particularly well – not that he’s normally a problem, but sometimes playtime goes a little past 7 or 7:30pm. Not this week. Clearly, the devil is on the way (number 2, I mean).

Treats that I’ve been enjoying so much this time that I didn’t have to endure last time:

  • Cankles – thank god the weather has pretty much remained warm so I can wear sandals. Because to squeeze my foot into a shoe right now would be very uncomfortable and also make me look like I am made of sausage.
  • A HUGE stomach
  • Charley horses like every night – you know what? I just had to do a Wikipedia search for that term, wondering where the hell it comes from. Anyway, the point is, I don’t really enjoy having to jump out of bed in the middle of the night to stand firmly on my feet to cease the worst leg muscle cramps of all time.

The only improvement this time is that I can’t even remember the last time I was really sick to my stomach. Last time, I was pretty consistent through to the end.

I have begun to get my butt in gear, starting with sorting out a room that kind of looks like a nursery now (our spare room, with the addition of a crib, changing table, Fisher Price swing and lots of other gear waiting to be set up), and organizing all of Oliver’s old baby clothes.

I had forgotten just how much clothing he had. And LOADS of it is Early Baby or Newborn sized as he was so small. His old sleep suits are incredibly tiny. But it’s all in good nick, no food stains of course! I still need to wash all of it, I’ll do that next week when the boys are away.

My mother organized a baby shower for me the other weekend, which was really kind, and loads of her friends, our family, and a couple of my friends gifted us with some wonderful stuff. Practical things like a new infant car seat (needed that badly), a bath cradle and soap and wipes and diapers. Lots of 3-6 month clothing – which will be helpful if number 2 is a lot bigger than Oliver, as I suspect may be the case. Although I assumed Oliver would be 8 lbs so don’t even listen to me.

One Response to “”

  1. Sometimes I Wonder Says:

    Oh, his room looks quite like Matthew’s!

    I’m getting all excited for you now (must be that broodiness again)


Leave a Reply

