Thursday, October 11, 2007
  • I’m on my second last day of work. As I really wasn’t sure I was going to make it this far (I’m working longer this time than last time), I was all prepared to be done sooner and now I have nothing to do! It sort of sucks. But is good for catching up on blogs.
  • The very uneventful provincial election ended last night. The outcome, however boring, is good for public servants; this batch of Liberals treats their workforce pretty well, and means that we see no significant deviation from current work going forward.
  • Mark and I have just splurged and bought a down duvet and a 600 thread count Egyptian sheet set. So I can look forward to getting a lot less sleep in comfort, anyway.
  • As a housewarming gift, my parents got us a slow cooker (which I requested). I soon learned, however, that being out of the house for 10 hours a day doesn’t allow for too many recipes that can cook that long (without being completely inedible, like the chicken and broccoli and rice I once tried). So I have a plan that I am going to start using it once number 2 arrives – I need to start finding some decent recipes. I have one seemingly okay source, Not Your Mother’s Slow Cooker Cookbook, but I haven’t attempted anything inside yet. It sort of makes sense to me that I can take advantage of naptime for a little meal prep, and then leave it to cook for a few hours (not 10). And with the cold finally moving in, something hot and hearty will be good for us all.
  • Last time I was about to go on mat leave, I had all kinds of grand plans for how I would spend my time. This time, no expectations. I mean, I might have a few days; I might have 3 or 4 weeks to go. Basic stuff like dishes and laundry is enough to do for now.
Leave a Reply

