Tuesday, October 16, 2007

I don’t like blogging at home as Safari, the standard Mac web browser, clearly does not like blogger. All I can do to this post is spell check it or add photos. I have no other posting options presented to me. I should probably be downloading Firefox or something. Must do some more research on what is up.

Anyway, I don’t have a choice about blogging from home as that’s where I am now! My plan for this first week of maternity leave was Mon-Wed-Fri out and about running errands etc., and Tues-Thurs be a homebody. So far, it’s going to plan.

Yesterday consisted of food shopping, and splurging on a new duvet cover for our lovely new duvet, as well as expensive shampoo for me. I am getting tired of supermarket stuff that does nothing for my hair. I have no idea if what I have bought is any good (I didn’t get any help from the salespeople so I just grabbed something random) but it’s a start.

Today has involved cleaning our bathroom (because in this house, the bathroom that gets used the most is the one that is never cleaned – logic being that no one else ever uses it, but it is disgusting and probably going to kill us if I don’t clean it more) – scrubbing the toilet and everything. And a long awaited organization of the linen cupboard. Including labelling shelves. God I feel virtuous.

I’ve got no shortage of projects to do around the house, things that we never get to, so I would kind of like to have a week or two more of this time before number 2 appears. I have no indication that the arrival is imminent – although I don’t really remember what I felt like just before Oliver appeared last time.

I realize that we had said we should get a cleaner if I went back to work. It didn’t happen. If we end up with 2 kids in daycare with me back at work next year, I think the remainder of my little take home pay post-daycare fees may have to go to a cleaner. If we end up with a nanny, although I want their main focus to be on taking care of children, perhaps a little help with the cleaning won’t be a bad thing. I guess part of the neglect has been that I’ve been pregnant the entire time we’ve lived in this house, and it’s not like I’ve been desperate to clean in my spare time. More likely to have my butt stuck on the couch with sore hips or whatever. But in the future, something has got to give…

3 Responses to “”

  1. tami Says:

    Safari pissed me off the first day I got my iMac so I downloaded Firefox and haven’t looked back!

    Good luck with the countdown. Let me know if I can help out with anything.

    Hugs…

  2. emmainlondon Says:

    You know, it never really bothered me until now as I was primarily on the internet at the office – but now I can see how incredibly better Firefox is! I’m just a little slow on the uptake.

  3. Maria Says:

    Aw, you’re nesting! Personally I preferred delegating to doing the chores myself. And we had a cleaner then – those were the days. Definitely get one. And use Firefox, works way better for everything, including this site. Can’t wait to see photos of the new bub – soon. I will be checking from London for updates!


Leave a Reply

