Sleep. Maybe one day?

Wednesday, February 20, 2008

Callum gave me a pretty good present last night – he slept from 10:30pm to 7:15am straight, in his crib. I was pretty surprised that it happened already, after only really going for 5-6 hour stretches before that, so of course I had to keep checking he was still alive. But he was. And I’m not going to count on it happening every night, but at least I know it’s possible!

Of course, that would have meant that I would have had my first full night of sleep in months. I can’t really remember when I last got a full nights’ sleep with no feedings (okay, 3.5 months ago) or getting up to pee or whatever while pregnant (probably like 5 or 6 months ago). Except that Oliver was wide awake at 4:30am, crying out for us, requesting beverages and cuddles, wanting to play with his toys, and needing more medicine. Thankfully, he did settle down to sleep again better than anticipated.

The poor kid woke up Monday afternoon with a bad fever. The fact that he could tell me how hot he was slightly worried me. Even more worrying was that despite repeated doses of tylenol and ibuprofen, the fever kept coming back. He was mostly normal when dosed up. If not dosed up, he was like a shell of himself – clingy, barely able to move, whimpering – it was awful. And he’s been sleeping so much.

I had to keep him home from daycare yesterday as he was still not well. We went to the doctor’s in the afternoon and she could find nothing wrong with him other than the fever. So it’s a mystery. But not a wasted appointment as I also needed to go as I have pinkeye/conjunctivitis. From where/who?! No one else has it!

So anyway, I thought after the middle of the night episode that he was going to have to stay home again, which I found rather annoying as I am still paying for full time daycare until the beginning of March, but Mark checked his temp this morning and it was normal. Also he was his chatty self, which is obviously a good sign. Very weird bug, though. Thankfully no sign of Callum being additionally ill on top of his cold he already had. Well, except for that sleeping through the night thing…damn.

One Response to “Sleep. Maybe one day?”

  1. Suburban Mum Says:

    Don’t you hate it when there’s no explanation! At least he’s better now, even if he did wake you up early!

    Fingers crossed that Callum repeats last night’s sleepathon.


Leave a Reply

