Sick, again.

Tuesday, March 18, 2008

I suppose the return of the these honking and pooping damn Canada geese to our yard is a positive sign of spring, right? Right?

Callum is REALLY sick. He might have pneumonia – the x-rays done yesterday were too overexposed so my doctor couldn’t say for sure. He’s choking so much on phlegm that he’s truly vomitting a lot, not just having reflux, and it’s kind of scary when he chokes in the middle of the night and it seems like he might stop breathing. His inhalers really aren’t doing that much.

It’s also frustrating because it sort of seems like I am still dealing with a 2 month old, not a 4 going on 5 month old. We had started a little bit of solid food, and now he’s refusing it, after enjoying it. He’s not awake and alert that much. He’s fussing at night. I feel like his seemingly constant poorliness (is that a word? probably not) is really holding his development back. Or maybe it’s just me. I just feel like Oliver was doing a lot more at this age.

A bit of a possible break coming up – Thursday we’re going up to Ottawa to stay with my grandparents, along with my parents, for the long weekend. Lots of people to entertain Oliver and to hold Callum. Just not really looking forward to the car journey.

img_0926.jpg

Edited to add: Okay, not pneumonia after all, but I think I’m going to continue the antibiotics anyway because he needs to get rid of the phlegm. And he is actually cooing and smiling at me today so I hope he’s on the up.

One Response to “Sick, again.”

  1. Suburban Mum Says:

    Oh what a nightmare for you all! I hope he feels better soon. Have a good trip to Ottawa.


Leave a Reply

