Oliver dool it

Wednesday, March 19, 2008

Oliver is really cracking me up lately. Despite my own personal lack of ability to simultaneously properly care for a toddler and a newborn, individually they are great.

We’re at the grocery store yesterday. I put some cream in the cart.

“Milk”, he says.

“No”, I correct him, “it’s cream.”

I overhear the following self-talk; it goes something like this:

“Cream. For coffee. Coffee’s only for grown ups. Yep.” And nods, like he’s thinking, I’d better remember that, it’s only for grown ups.

He always insists on doing things for himself now, like taking his shoes off, brushing his teeth (we still do it afterwards), or washing his face after a meal. He normally says “Oliver dool it”. We’re not sure how “do” has become pronounced “dool”, but that’s how he says it.

The other day, we were watching the Wonder Pets, and there was a bunny rabbit called Ollie.

So I explain to him how his name is Ollie too, like Oliver, but shorter.

So now, once in a while, we get to hear “Ollie dool it” – I’m just wondering which aspect of his personality is named Ollie…

One Response to “Oliver dool it”

  1. Jen Says:

    Ha ha – sounds familiar – I hear “Jaden do it” all the time!


Leave a Reply

