Callum update: 5 months old

Wednesday, April 9, 2008

Callum is 5 months old today. Thankfully, recently he’s been relatively worry free – no chest infections, no illness. I’m a little worried he’s about to get sick as Oliver has a horrible double ear infection, but so far, so good.

He’s shown no interest in rolling over from back to front or front to back yet. But he’s been very good at grabbing things for a long time. His hand movements are more and more deliberate. He likes to babble, more than I remember Oliver doing. And he’s very ticklish lately.

Watching Top Gear

(He was watching Top Gear)

He has managed to go through about a year’s worth of Oliver’s old clothes in 5 months, an astounding feat. This of course ensures that we won’t be able to give him hand-me-downs much longer, as he’s going to be bigger than Oliver sooner than later, which is a pretty good trick when you’re a younger brother.

He loves pear and banana, likes apple and sweet potato, but doesn’t think that much of cereal. He’s sleeping pretty well from around 10:30pm until 6 or 7am, when he has a quick snack, and then he’s down again until 9 or so. Apparently he’s sleeping in this morning as it’s 9:45 and he’s not up yet!

The first couple of times he got sick, he just wanted to breastfeed and wasn’t bothered about the bottle. For some reason, the last time he got sick, he didn’t want to breastfeed and just wanted the bottle. I had a lot of difficulty maintaining the combination feeding during that time, so I made a decision to cut it out except for last thing at night and first thing in the morning. It’s working for both of us.

*

Seem to have watched a lot of videos of kids singing on blogs lately. So Oliver is jumping on the bandwagon, with this greatest hits medley. And he’s addicted to YouTube/Google Video clips of Spiderman, the Chicken Dance, Chitty Chitty Bang Bang and the Wheels on the Bus, so now he can watch himself too.

One Response to “Callum update: 5 months old”

  1. Connie Says:

    Sorry – I last posted on the wrong day! I know exactly how you feel. I never met Jen and her beloved Sadie, but I feel like I know them personally by her stories and I cried when I got to the last entry. I just wrote the same as you about my baby boy. I can’t imagine losing him! My heart hurts for this wonderful mommy named Jen.

    Your baby is beautiful! He has a smooth head like my little man. So adorable!


Leave a Reply

