Like I’ve been hit across the face with a frying pan

Tuesday, June 3, 2008

This winter, I managed to not get sick at all.  I sort of surmised that perhaps my body had decided I already had enough stress to deal with, so it was going to kick any germs’ butt that happened to be hanging around.  And as Callum and Oliver were sick a number of times, there were quite a few germs that must have been defeated by my immune system.

Today, however, the germs have defeated me, I’ve caught something from Callum that Oliver gave him, and I’m feverish, and continuously leaking fluids from eyes and nose, and sore and miserable, and should really be in bed.  Of course, I’m not actually able to stay in bed all day because there are BEINGS that need to be cared for.  When do mothers get to stay in bed and recuperate again?  When the kids are teenagers?  But I’d still need to sort out the dog and the cat  anyway.

Anyway, I digress.  The worst part, actually, is that I have realized in how bad I am feeling, that Callum has really been hit hard by this, and of course he can’t blow his nose every 5 seconds or take extra-strength decongestants.  I have a hard time giving him simple infant Tylenol or ibuprofen due to his incredible gag reflex, so he’s only had pain relief if I’ve been able to feed him some mixed into milk or applesauce.  He’s been suffering since the weekend.

I’m hoping he’s better today though.  I woke him up at 10am, after we both had a particularly rough night, and he had a decent breakfast, and managed some happy cooing for a while  (with a frog in his throat, so deep cooing) and to roll over from back to tummy for the first time.  Finally!  He’s been napping peacefully for the past 1 1/2 hours and I hope this means he’s on the mend.  He also doesn’t have a fever today, for the first time in days.

I look rough, I feel rough, and I’m just going to keep medicating and drinking hot tea and keep hoping it’s a short term thing. OH MY SINUSES.

Leave a Reply

