Down and ill

Friday, June 6, 2008

It’s been a pretty awful week around here – after I got sick, Callum got sicker – like really, scarily ill.  On Wednesday morning, he was almost unresponsive, he just slept and slept, and I couldn’t get him to smile.  His eyes were just wrong, like only half opened and dull.  Took him to the doctor, and she ordered a chest x-ray (which is a horrible ordeal for a baby, he gets strapped into a torture chamber to get the picture, and that’s the second one he’s had to have in his life).  She saw a possible shadow on it, and asked for a proper report from the lab, but in the mean time prescribed antibiotics in case it was pneumonia.

I have no results yet, but I wouldn’t be surprised if it was as I know how absolutely AWFUL I felt on Tuesday and we seemed to have the same bug – and I remember how awful I felt when I had pneumonia when I was 18.  But by Wednesday, I was feeling a lot better, particularly after my fever broke.  He, instead, just went totally downhill.  Thankfully, he’s a lot more like himself now.  He’s smiling again, was in the Jolly Jumper for the first time in ages today, and is back to mastering the roll over on to his tummy (note to self: must vacuum more, he’s covered in dog hair now).  He’s not drinking any where near as much milk as normal, though.

So it could actually be that we both have pneumonia – if the doctor confirms his, then I think I’m going to have to get a chest x-ray too.  I’ve definitely got something going on in my lungs, and I am winded even more easily than usual.  And I’m still achy and sort of feel like I’m not getting enough air when I try to do something.

It’s a relief that he’s on the upswing, but I am still feeling the stress of the week.  Hoping that this weekend, which is meant to include meeting up with all sorts of old friends, some of which I haven’t seen in years, will put a more positive spin on things.

Leave a Reply

