Today I wish I was Chinese

Friday, August 8, 2008

Or rather, why 08/08/08 turns out to be not a very lucky day for me at all.

We just found out Mark’s grandmother, his last remaining grandparent, his father’s mother, Oliver’s ‘Nanny’,  died today.  (Consolation prize: she was 97, she died peacefully in her sleep, we don’t have to visit the nursing home anymore, we just saw her when we visited the UK last month).

Callum seemed extra sick yesterday.  I spent most of the day at my parent’s house and I knew that my doctor’s office is closed for holidays, so I was thinking about taking him to a walk-in clinic today.  Except he coughed his lungs out, choking, the ENTIRE journey home (1 hr 15 mins), including while sleeping.  I came in, Mark put Oliver to bed, I had a shower, and then I took Callum to the hospital.  Eventually, 2am, we could go home with a prescription.  Yet again, ‘I don’t really hear anything in his chest, but there might be a shadow on this chest x-ray but I am not really sure so here are some antibiotics’ (third time that’s been said to me).

Came home, put him to bed, hoped he would sleep (he did a bit but kept fussing with the cough) but I didn’t sleep a lot.  Because I had another appointment to worry about this morning.

While we were in England, we sort of realized how much Oliver was sweating while he was sleeping.  Like leaving giant circles of sweat on his pillow and in his bed, even while napping on the airplane.  I sort of thought it was weird since it didn’t seem that hot.  And then I started thinking about random other symptoms and illnesses he has or has had.  And then I got a little worried.

My list:

  • night sweats
  • nosebleeds
  • bruises easily
  • unexplained rashes
  • fever with sometimes no apparent cause
  • irritability (yeah, I know, he’s 2.5 years old, the dictionary definition of irritable, what do I expect)

Do I need to spell it out?  You parental types will get it.  C-A-N-C-E-R.  L-E-U-K-E-M-I-A.   Fully aware that all of the above can be easily explained by many other things and not freaking out by Googling these symptoms too much, we rationally decided that it warranted investigation.  Which is when I discovered my doctor conveniently decided to go on holiday for 2 weeks or so (okay, I’m so kidding, the woman totally deserves a vacation, can I come?).  We got a referral to a pediatrician from a walk-in clinic.  The appointment was this morning.

The doctor was great.  He was thorough.  And he listened.  And fantastic!  He found another symptom!

Oliver has petechiae.  I’m stealing an explanation from the internet:  pinpoint-sized red dots under the surface of the skin – red because they contain blood that has leaked from tiny blood vessels (capillaries) into the skin.  A low platelet count (thrombocytopenia) is a common cause of petechiae. Platelets play an important role in blood clotting.

And then Mr. Peds said he looks really healthy, and the petechiae are the only minor concern he has – but only if they spread.  He suspects they might be there from Oliver scratching his torso when he’s had execema/dry winter skin.  And then!  He found ringworm on his leg!! Good god, I really can’t take all of this.  We’re now harvesting skin fungus.  I’m just relieved it’s not actually a WORM in his skin (I just learned that, thanks Wikipedia!).

And then we had McDonalds for lunch and it tasted like crap (because it always does) and then I doubled over with cramps and then we came home to news of Mark’s Nan and then I collapsed because today is just too much.  Or rather, that’s what I am going to do right now.  After I eat some cake and drink 2 bottles of wine.  Okay, maybe I’ll just have tea.

Aw crap, I just remembered that Callum projectile vomitted up his antibiotics and his lunch and his milk all over the high chair so I’d better deal with that instead.  THANKS, TODAY.  Today has defeated me.

3 Responses to “Today I wish I was Chinese”

  1. tami Says:

    Jesus Christ Emma! What can I do to help?

  2. Samantha Says:

    Jesus Christ is right!
    DOes the fungus have anything to do with Callum’s coughing?

  3. EWiller Says:

    Hmm. Good question. I am not sure that the fungus would turn up as a chest infection? I’ll talk to my doctor when she returns. Or ask Mark’s sister.


Leave a Reply

