Piper is furminated

Tuesday, August 19, 2008

So we have about the hairiest, highest shedding animals ever – some sort of Persian cat and a Golden Retriever.  Basically if you come into my house,  you will leave with pet fur on you, no doubt.  Basically my children are growing up on a diet that has dog hair as one of the major food groups.

So I was interested to read some very positive unsolicited reviews of a brush thingie called the Furminator on Dooce and All & Sundry.  And then today I went to PetSmart and thought, jesus, that thing better be worth the price.  [Be smarter than me and check Ebay first, please.]  And thought, what the hell, I’ll give it to Mark as a ‘welcome home’ present – now go brush the damn cat, please.

Anyway, I brought it home and used it on Piper and within 5 minutes the entire room, my clothing, Oliver, everything was covered in enough hair to make a whole other dog.  I don’t have the camera, I wish I did, but basically this photo is VERY accurate.  Five minutes was about all I could do as Piper hates being brushed.  And I was starting to itch.  And there was about a cat’s worth of hair on my jeans.  And it took me 15 minutes to vacuum it all up.

So here’s another blog plugging the Furminator (except, of course, I have about 789,956,732 less readers than Linda or Heather, and who the hell cares about what I have to say) – and my recommendation is to use it naked, and in a small uncarpeted room with the door shut.  Or outside, if you live in the middle of nowhere and you won’t get fur tumbleweeds in your neighbours’ yard – but still naked.  Unfortunately trying to vacuum my clothing didn’t work out so well.

She already looks thinner, she’s lost so much sheddy undercoat (hmm, does this work on humans?).  I will attack her again soon.  I may even be really ambitious and give her a bath this week.

2 Responses to “Piper is furminated”

  1. tami Says:

    I think I may have peed myself a little reading this. I totally need one of those for Chloe.

  2. Lisa Says:

    Oooh. We need one of these!!! Jasper’s been shedding like crazy lately.


Leave a Reply

