A heart that hurts…

Friday, December 5, 2008

Is a heart that works.  Sorry, I’ve dug out some old Juliana Hatfield records lately, and I’ve been listening at work, while typing up various reports and documents.  Mamapop had a link to Juliana’s blog – excuse my train of thought…making me think how different it would be to be a teenager and really into music now as opposed to the late 90’s, when there was barely anything resembling today’s internet, and how close you can get to the artist now.  I had a huge girl crush on Juliana in my late teenage years.  I only saw her play live once.  She is awesome, and I’ve got to catch up on her most recent albums.  And as she writes on her blog, she is struggling.  I hope she can heal what is going on with her.

Her words are ringing in my head right now, because I’ve just come home from a few hours at the children’s hospital with Oliver, sorting out his surgery referral and getting him properly examined.  And I was lucky enough to be there with a kid who doesn’t feel ill, who doesn’t really get that something needs fixing.  Because, if you are at all a softie, and boy am I a softie post-popping out children, just stay away from a children’s hospital. I can’t tell you how many times I got teary eyed today.  Babies with IV drips.  A four or five year old girl on a gurney, screaming into a pillow to muffle her pain.  It’s such a horrible place.

And yet, it’s such a wonderful place.  The staff were incredibly helpful and upbeat.  The whole place is child friendly.  Oliver thought he was on a great adventure.  When we have some money to give, when we are in a spot that we can think about donating money, I really want it to go there.

And we’ll be back soon, putting Oliver under for a few hours to get his hernia fixed, a little surgery, but I think I’m going to be a little more than upset that day.

3 Responses to “A heart that hurts…”

  1. Victoria Says:

    I know how you feel: going to a hospital is bad enough, but seeing sick children is much worse.

    When I took my son in for something routine very recently, seeing all the very ill children scared him and me as well. Then, I remembered when I was little and had to go to the doctor, my mom would give me a walkman to listen to. It was the only thing that would calm me down, but looking back, I think it was more for her.

    So, I got this SweetPea3 MP3 player for my son, which I read on this review: http://www.savvymom.ca/index.php/newsletter/get_going/

    And it worked! You can play it out loud and we sang songs together. Well, he hummed along mostly. But he felt much more calm and the whole ordeal wasn’t as bad because the music proved a soothing distraction.

    I hope this helps.

    Take good care,
    Victoria

  2. EWiller Says:

    That’s a great idea – thanks! I did actually consider taking out my ipod at one point, but it was sort of full of completely inappropriate music and podcasts – will put some stuff on for him before we have to go again…

  3. UrbanVox Says:

    TB fell and banged his head pretty hard today…
    you should see his reaction when we mentioned the word hospital…
    boy hates it with all his might!!!
    poor thing! 😦

    ah…. tomorrow is the last day of the Drinks are on ME competition!!
    Go on… leave your comment!!!
    zya!


Leave a Reply

