Gifts

Monday, December 22, 2008

First of all, thanks for all your concern re: Oliver.  Friday was a successful clinic visit and his hernia correction surgery is now scheduled for mid February.  I will be really glad to have that over with. 

*

I’m more thinking about Callum, as I finish up Christmas shopping and hours of seemingly never ending present wrapping.  Poor Callum.  The second baby.  The second son.  Your Christmas offerings this year are pathetic – basically, we don’t know what the hell we are meant to buy you.  We already have every single boy-oriented toy in the house.  You often prefer to play with your brother’s toys anyway (haven’t swallowed any small bits yet, well done) so it does seem silly to buy more baby toys.  We only got you a couple.  And clothing – you are only a few pounds behind your brother in weight, so at least you won’t be taking all his hand-me-downs forever, but I don’t really see a point in putting you in lots of new stuff to ruin at daycare when I kept everything of Oliver’s that wasn’t completely stained.  So under the tree for you is a very small pile of toys and clothes.  For your brother – well, we can’t even fit a lot of it actually under the tree because it’s too big.  And numerous.

Callum, please hurry up and grow up so that we can learn who you are and what you like, and hopefully gifts will get easier the more personality and taste that you develop (but wait…don’t grow up…you’re the baby…let’s keep you in those footie pajamas and drinking milk from a bottle and snuggling up to sleep…)

Oh, and I promise to buy you some stuff in the sales.  Okay?

5 Responses to “Gifts”

  1. UrbanVox Says:

    U will wish he didn’t grow up first later… u know that don’t u??? 🙂

  2. Vic Says:

    Make the most of it now, because in four years time when they’re both asking for iphones and PSPs you’ll be glad you saved cash on those small gifts this year!

  3. Samantha Says:

    Ems I so feel that mini stab of guilt for my second son….I wracked my brains for weeks and weeks trying to figure out what on earth we needed since he too plays with everything that Tate does. I ended up getting him a train to go with Tates train set! OH and I tagged a lot of Tate’s presents to the both of them so that they have to share!

  4. Angella Says:

    I totally hear you. Poor Nathan gets the shaft sometimes…

  5. Hampers Says:

    Nice blog. I love to take and give gifts that makes me happy. ENjoyed your blog very much, Cheers 🙂 HappY Blogging 🙂


Leave a Reply

