Saving the world, one shopping bag at a time

Monday, January 26, 2009

No, I didn’t start using re-usable bags (diversion – honestly, I am not there yet, because we use all the evil plastic bags we get.  Do you know how many uses for a plastic bag there are in a house with a baby and a toddler – oh crap, they got older! a toddler and a preschooler?!).

What I did do was hitch a ride with my parents, who were heading down to the suburbs of Cleveland for the weekend, and attack American retail full-on.

If Kohls, Target and Burlington Coat Factory had known I was coming that morning, they would have pulled out a red carpet.

I think I just single handedly saved the American economy.

And I was on a high while out there, hitting the stores, throwing stuff labelled $1, $3, $5, $11 into my shopping cart like there was no tomorrow (no tomorrow with credit card bills).  I was in a retail trance.

And then I came crashing down when I realized just how much I had spent.  Like about twice the limit for a 48 hour trip.

But I really don’t need to go shopping for anything again like forever.  Anything that I remotely needed (better ear buds for my ipod that don’t fall out of my ear, proper New Balance sneakers, a wool coat, summer clothes for the kids, clothes for Mark, kitchen stuff, stationary…) I found for a deal.  The deals really were incredible, even with the exchange rate.

Now I just need to figure out how I am going to pay that credit card bill…

4 Responses to “Saving the world, one shopping bag at a time”

  1. Sandy Says:

    That sounds so much like me!!! I can’t pass up a deal. I mean, someone is going to need it, at some point in say…the next 20 years, right?! My closet is FULL of bags just since Christmas, for Valentines, and Easter, and Birthdays, and the summer and next Christmas. I don’t know where to put it all. But the high, while it lasts…is marvelous. 🙂

  2. Athena Says:

    Stuff does seem to be much cheaper in America.

  3. Vic Says:

    I can’t give up my plastic bag addiction either. I take a couple of reuseable ones, but never enough, just so I can come back with some more plastic ones. They’re just too useful.

  4. kgirl Says:

    This is why I have to limit my trips to the States!


Leave a Reply

