Of the weekend

Monday, March 9, 2009

I really think the Rainforest Cafe should have a sign near the front saying “Please be aware that your children, be they of the preschooler or younger variety, may be completely terrified of our animatronic animals, and we promise not to sit you next to the angry gorrillas.  Also, our food is overpriced but we won’t mind too much if you just come in for a drink and a snack.”

*

I can now say it’s been 2 years since we moved in to our house.  And it’s incredible, really, how little we’ve gotten accomplished in renovating any of it.  I mean, I suppose it’s not incredible considering our inability to do anything much other than parent two little kids and pay the normal bills.  But still.  I would like to give this house the attention it deserves at some point.  One day.

*

We just booked to go here for a week at Easter.   The reviews are good, the photos look good, the tax return money is paying for it, and most important of all they have a baby club.  So we will actually get a break.  And may be able to maintain a low level of constant rum intake.  Sounds WONDERFUL.

*

I could end this weekend update on a note about how frustrating Oliver’s lack of desire to potty train is, or the fact that Callum got all pissy and started hitting me around dinner time yesterday for no good reason…

but I’ll focus on the fact that they are actually playing together for longer periods of time now, so that 10 minutes can actually go by without any crying or ‘mummy mummy mummy’ — but rather there is a low level chatter and toy play noise (chooo chooo) which makes me rather happy.  And coffee gets drunk and newspapers get read and I can see the future that involves independence and all good things.

One Response to “Of the weekend”

  1. Carly Says:

    I have to say I LOVE your house. It’s beautiful!


Leave a Reply

