Moan festival

Monday, March 30, 2009

People, I got 12 comments on my last post!  12!  It’s a record!  Awesome, thank you!  And thank you for the affirming advice.  I’ll let you know what we figure out.  But I really appreciate the discussion.

Particularly as this week is just full of suckage.

Mark’s on a business trip until Wednesday or Thursday.

I have an extremely busy week at work.

Mark normally does daycare drop-off, but now I have to, which means I need to bust a gut getting them and me out the door in order not to miss my train.  Our local public transport is very limited so it’s not like I can catch another train 5 minutes later if I miss that one.  If I miss that one, the whole day is shot.

I was sort of hoping Oliver was going to step up and be Mummy’s little helper, which I’ve been prepping him for.

Instead, tonight, he poured his milk all over his dinner (on purpose).  He insisted on sitting in a poo-filled Pull Up for said dinner.  After he finally agreed to be cleaned up, he pee’d into one of his toys and then sat on the couch playing with himself.

I’ve had to remove myself from hanging out with him right now.  Because I AM SO ANGRY I can barely see straight.  I am resentful (when’s MY business trip?? when do I get to go away) and I am so damn frustrated with Oliver.  Callum was grumpy and snotty.  The dog can’t get taken for a proper walk because I can’t leave the house unless the kids are both with me.

I’m trying to focus on the fact that in about a week and a half, I’ll be on a beach with some kind of rum concoction in my hand.  But’s it’s bloody hard to see past the piss right now.

6 Responses to “Moan festival”

  1. Emma Says:

    In the last 3 years I think I have done a grand total of 2 bedtimes on my own. I don’t know how I would handle entire days and nights. So kudos to you because I know for a fact I would lose my mind.

    I hope tomorrow is a better day!

  2. Cristen Says:

    Three years old is hard work. My kid is just like that. And my husband travels about 2-3 times a month. Totally bites. Can you take a break from work and leave early, or get someone to help you? Because ya, it’s totally hard work.

  3. Vic Says:

    You should probably ignore the kids and make yourself one of thsoe rum concoctions now.

  4. SCM Says:

    Great suggestion from Vic – gets my vote!

  5. EWiller Says:

    Vic, you’re right, although I think I’m going to save my taste of rum for Cuba. Going for a glass of wine now. Even though, thank Christ, he was SO MUCH better tonight. I just thanked him for not sending me running from the house as I put him to bed. And it looks like Mark is coming home tomorrow night which means only one more panicked morning running for the train…

  6. Suburban Mum Says:

    When SH first started working away it annoyed me and I hated doing the bedtime routine and dreaded each and every trip. Now he isn’t working I miss them SO much!

    He was probably just playing up to your stress. Just think of your holiday and breathe xxx


Leave a Reply

