Twilight: It bites

Tuesday, April 28, 2009

Har har har.  I’m so funny.

Anyway, I’m probably going to lose some friends here. Vic?  I’m sorry.

Jumping on the bandwagon extremely late, as I am wont to do, I bought myself the first book in the Twilight series and took it to Cuba to read.  At first I didn’t actually know when I was going to get to read it as I wasn’t really going to be sitting and reading a book during my 3-6 daytime kid-free hours, because I was actually going to be spending that with Mark, and I couldn’t really read before bed, as we were all sleeping in the same room which means lights off and be quiet for christ’s sake, no one wake the children.

But on the second night I snuck out after everyone else was asleep.  This makes it sound late but actually it was only 8:30pm.  Let’s just say Mark got A LOT of sleep while we were away.  Anyway, I stole away to to the lobby to sit in a comfy chair with my book.  Oh, and I stopped at the bar to get a mojito or a pina colada first, can’t remember which.

And I read.  And I devoured with speed, finishing it over the next 2 days.  And I didn’t get it.  Why was this poorly written book so popular?  What was I missing? 

Why was Bella the interesting story?  I’d rather be reading about Carlisle, actually.  I found the little tidbits about him to be most fascinating.

Anyway, I am not going to do a thorough review because really, it was a quick read that didn’t take up a lot of my time or brain space.  I am not currently obsessed with Edward or Bella or whatever.  I might read the other books just to know what happens.  I might even watch the movie (which, funnily enough, they were showing on the flight down but I was too busy wrangling the kids to pay attention).  I guess there’s a success for the author, that even someone who didn’t like the first book might like to know what happens at the end of the story.   But it just didn’t do it for me.

Good god, it’s been ages since I read a good book.  Must really do something about that…

4 Responses to “Twilight: It bites”

  1. Vic Says:

    Well that’s it! I won’t be coming back here again.

  2. EWiller Says:

    Vic, there’s no smiley face, no ‘just kidding’ on the end of your comment?! *weeps*

  3. 1001petals Says:

    I’m currently re-reading the Hyperion series by Dan Simmons for the third time. If you like sci-fi, I highly recommend it if you haven’t read it already. SO GOOD.

  4. Tami Says:

    I just finished Running With Scissors by Augusten Burroughs and holy hell is it effed up. I loved it. I haven’t been that mesmerized by a book since We Need To Talk About Kevin.

    I’m glad you had an awesome trip!


Leave a Reply

