Ottawa

Wednesday, May 20, 2009

Last weekend was a long weekend here in Canada, and we took an extra day off as well, in order to have a decent amount of time to spend in Ottawa.

Ottawa, Canada’s capital city, is one of my favourite places.  I was born there.  I wasn’t raised there, but no matter where we lived in the world (my family moved a lot when I was little), we always came back to Ottawa.  My maternal grandparents have lived there since my mother was young.

I lived with them when I did my undergraduate degree at the University of Ottawa.  I made some great friends in Ottawa, through school and through work.  I wish we could live there now – but I have so little French and Mark didn’t see any prospects there.  Maybe one day.

It’s beautiful, it’s active, it’s family friendly.  It’s good.

IMG_2151IMG_2152IMG_2153

I’m tempted to say the best thing about this weekend was when my parents babysat so Mark and I could go and see Star Trek (awesome!).  But I think the best thing of all was listening to my grandfather, who turns 90 this fall, have a very detailed conversation with my 3 year old about his British Navy uniform from the 1940’s.  Even if Oliver thought he was a policeman.

IMG_2155

I’m so glad that my children are getting to know their great-grandparents.

IMG_2161

psst – don’t forget to enter my little contest!

5 Responses to “Ottawa”

  1. Shannon Says:

    I’m in Ottawa, born and raised. Love it! Glad you had a great time!

  2. Samantha Says:

    I miss Ottawa
    and your grandmas fish!

  3. mel Says:

    How wonderful that your kids are getting to know their great-grandparents! That’s not too common these days.

  4. SCM Says:

    I like the photo of your Grandad in his uniform.

  5. Emma Says:

    I’ve never been to Ottawa…my mother is very anti-Canadian, so there were very few holidays within in Canada..but my daughter is going next year on a school trip. I’m very envious of her!

    How lucky are your children to have great grandparents? My 2 oldest met my nan, who passed away in 2005 and when my daughter went to England that summer she met my Grandad. I am glad that he got to see at least one of my children!


Leave a Reply

