All things go, all things go*

Wednesday, July 22, 2009

So I’m almost packed.  So I’m resisting the temptation to leave 2 pages of instructions for Mark, but I think he can handle the kids as there’s no newborns involved here.

I am determined to get over my nerves – I can do it, I’ve done it before. I moved to London, didn’t know a soul in the city, and just got on with it.  That was the last time I traveled on my own.  I can do it again just for a weekend!  I can show up to a party on my own.  I am a grown up.

I have a nice room mate for 2 nights that I don’t know.  I have plans to meet up with people that I sort of know but don’t really know.  I hope to say hi and squee in a few people’s faces, those whose words I have been reading for years.  There are so many of those that will be there in the flesh.

I fully admit I am looking forward to the swag.  Because, dude, free stuff.  I like it.  They told me to pack an extra bag to bring it home.  That sounds rather promising.

There are SO many parties. There are like 3 a night that I’ve RSVP’d to!  Unless I get given a cloning machine, it’s just not going to happen.  But I will do my best to enjoy my 4 days away.

I’ve got business cards.  I’m not really sure why, I guess everyone told me to, but I am so NOT going to build more readership.  I suspect, actually, that this blog will be finished sooner rather than later.  Not sure – I like the outlet to write once in a while, but as I already have a job and a full-time life offline, not really sure where this is going in light of the way things are developing in the blogosphere.

But perhaps I will figure that out this weekend.

Tomorrow afternoon, it’s off to BlogHer I go.

*words stolen from Sufjan Stevens

4 Responses to “All things go, all things go*”

  1. Haley-O Says:

    SEE YOU THERE! And, I know what you mean — it will be interesting to see what the BlogHer Conference will have to say about what I definitely see as the waning state of the blogosphere. And I blame twitter for giving peeps a quick read. Why go to the blog, if you can get the quick play-by-play. I definitely see that. Sad.

  2. mancais Says:

    Have a great time


Leave a Reply

