Always the photographer

Friday, October 9, 2009

Still talking about the Bunch party. Sorry. But there was a Yahoo! Canada photo booth there, as there normally is at those events, as well as roaming photogs and cameras.  And I took the kids to the photo booth, and with the help of the staff, convinced the always reluctant Oliver to get in the picture.  Callum is never a problem. He LOVES the camera.

3990785938_778ee4bb33_o

For the record, I love this photo. That’s what Callum’s face looks like when he talks to me.  That shining face, I swear it’s just oozing adoration.  That kid adores me like no other and I can’t help but eat it up.  And yeah it’s demonstrating that I need a hair cut, too, but let’s focus on that gorgeous face of his.

Finally. Finally we get Oliver in the picture and they take the photo and all I can think is – for ONCE, for once I have a photo with me in it with both my kids.  I can’t wait to see how it turns out.

3992421995_219c587515_o

Oh god.  There I am, mid-sentence, telling them what to do.  I think it was like “stand together and smile!”, or something.  So incredibly unflattering!  Hurrah!

But, at least I exist.  Because other than these photos, I don’t exist since the last photos I was in, probably from a year ago.

It leads me to automatically think, what if something happened to me? Wouldn’t they want to know what I looked like?  Wouldn’t they be curious about this woman they probably would barely remember, what she looked like?  Because I would.

I’m not irreplaceable.  If I got hit by a bus tomorrow, and Mark remarried (you know, after the appropriate grieving process, give him about 6 months), I am sure they would love their lovely step-mother and be wonderful people and get on with their lives.  But if I was them, I would want to know about me.

And yes this is the depths of my insanity. I get my photo taken at a kids’ party and I’ve already married my husband off and given my kids a new mother.  Welcome to my brain.

My brain that is in my head that is always behind the camera and never in front.

(photos borrowed from Bunch’s Flickr stream – thanks for capturing my existence!)

PS – yo Canucks, happy turkey weekend.

5 Responses to “Always the photographer”

  1. 1001petals Says:

    I’m glad to read that I’m not the only one that thinks things like that. I hate it when thoughts like that spring up!

    I think you look great in those photos, the one with both boys is like an action shot 🙂 Much better than posed.

  2. Vic Says:

    I think I may have to leave instructions that my entire family is to grieve until their own, very distant deaths. I don’t seem to be in a lot of photos either, unless the husband takes them when I’m not looking. That said, as he’s usually the one behind the camera, neither is he. I’m sure I’d be remembered though, probably as the one who wouldn’t let him play xbox before he went to school in the mornings. Ah! The injustice of a cruel mother!

  3. Lady Mama Says:

    Haha. My brain works the same way as yours. Love the photos.

  4. Rebecca Says:

    Glad to help support the notion of your existence. Thanks for Rumpusing!


Leave a Reply

