Being crafty

Monday, November 2, 2009

When I had no children, not a care in the world, freedom baby yeah more disposable income when I lived in the UK, I happened to develop an Orla Kiely fetish.

I have spoken of my love for her wares before.

This love, it does not end.  I am still faithful to her. There are many Orla Kiely-branded items in this house, from handbags to wellies to wallets to dishes.

Recently, I came across a shopping bag in the basement, a bag that has traveled across the ocean with us.  It’s a bag that is from Orla Kiely’s flagship London store, a place that when I walk into I sort of spontaneously combust.  (LOOK AT IT!)

What am I to do with this bag? I don’t need it. I am not going to use it again. It’s collecting dust. BUT it’s beautiful. It’s one of my favourite patterns.

IMG_0894

(Am I weird? When I see some of her patterns, I literally have a physical response. Like heart palpitations. Like the flutter of new love.  I really, truly adore her patterns.)

An idea suddenly sprang forth.  I have some Ikea art all over the house, stuff bought as a student or when I was being really cheap, that I’d really like to replace. But I want to replace it with decent stuff and I don’t have the resources to do that yet.

IMG_0895

I had an A-Ha moment. I got some scissors and glue.

IMG_0897

Not bad, eh? Too bad I can’t cut straight. Will work until I win the lottery and commission some original art (ha ha).  Just don’t look too closely or it looks like crap. Sorry, Orla. I still love you!!

10 Responses to “Being crafty”

  1. kgirl Says:

    I love it! And I’m totally with you on the physical response to a certain aesthetic. I’m like that with Amy Butler, among others. It’s why I came home from the CreativFestival with $100 worth of fabric, and I can’t even sew.

  2. Mamalooper Says:

    I love it too! I have a similar reaction to Marimekko fabrics and Madeline Weinrib carpets and Josef Frank fabrics.

  3. Vic Says:

    Now all you need to do is pay a fortune for the matching wallpaper! lol

  4. mancais Says:

    What a good idea. Looks very fresh.


  5. […] Being crafty « Where there’s a Willer… wherewiller.wordpress.com/2009/11/02/being-crafty – view page – cached When I had no children, not a care in the world, freedom baby yeah more disposable income when I lived in the UK, I happened to develop an Orla Kiely fetish. […]


Leave a Reply

