Under

Friday, January 15, 2010

Since we got back, I feel a bit like I can’t come up for air.  I couldn’t sleep the first two nights we got back, my body insisting that I needed to be awake at 4am.  Then the kids got sick – first Oliver, and now possibly Callum.  Not sure yet.  Just a low grade fever for him.  But Oliver had a fairly nasty tummy bug with fever, and spent most of Wednesday on the couch.

So I’m tired.  Exhausted, really.  There are literally 10 loads of laundry to do or put away (not an exaggeration).  There are dishes stacking up.  There is still another suitcase to be unpacked.  There is still Christmas crap everywhere, decorations and cards and tree.

Before we went away, I agreed to book Oliver a birthday party with his friends for this weekend. I didn’t anticipate how much stress it would be causing me now, to have to pull together a half-way decent celebration.  I also didn’t know that he was going to have a pretty decent party while we were away – I knew there was going to be one, but I didn’t know how much trouble my sister-in-law and mother-in-law were going to go to.  It was a great pirate birthday party.  So I really wish he wasn’t having another one this weekend.  It’s overkill.  And I’m overwhelmed.

All of these things are bloody petty, of course, when I get around to turning on the news. Haiti. It’s awful. I made a donation this week to Médecins Sans Frontières/Doctors Without Borders. What else can I do?

I’m floundering. Someone throw me a bone.

Here’s yours:  if you want to peek at our photos from our trip – click the image.

England trip Dec 09-Jan 10
9 Responses to “Under”

  1. Mamalooper Says:

    The party will be fine – as long as they can run around like banshees and slurp some juice after a slice of crappy pizza, they’ll be happy.

    Loot bags don’t have to be fancy – Mastermind has these crazy drinking straws that the girl got as her “loot bag” last weekend – cheap and cheerful and perfect.

  2. kgirl Says:

    I do that kind of thing to myself all the time. My advice? Do one thing every day, and don’t stress out about it. If the party day comes before the laundry is done, shove it in a room and close the door. As far as lootbags go, the dollar store and bulk barn are about as fancy as you need to get.

    • EWiller Says:

      Thanks ladies – yep, after spending HOURS assembling the perfect Thomas-themed loot bags for Callum’s party in November, Oliver’s loot bags will contain (1)a bag of Goldfish crackers (2) a Kinder chocolate. The end. I don’t care anymore. Like the kids care.
      And thankfully the party is at an indoor playground. At least I had the foresight to keep it out of the house this time.

  3. 1001petals Says:

    Can you hire someone to come in for the day and help you clean? It doesn’t cost very much and will save you a lot of stress.

  4. Sandy Kerr Says:

    Loved the pics Em – At least the kids had a fantastic holiday – they looked soooo happy and enjoying themselves in all the pics.
    Hey housework will always keep – AND always be there – enjoy the birthdays as they come – create fantastic memories for all.
    That Pirate theme in UK was awesome – especially that cake!

  5. Lady Mama Says:

    Love the pictures. Gloucester is beautiful.

  6. daysgoby Says:

    Y’all are so lovely.

    Last year I FORGOT the treat bags for Cass’s birthday and noone noticed.

    Happy Birthday to your sweet boy!


  7. Simple loot bags and an indoor party — you’re on the ball already. The sheer waste of all the cheap plastic toys we get in loot bags that C plays with for all of a day or two and then I eventually throw out drives me mad.

    After donating money, which you’ve done, the best thing you can do re: Haiti is enjoy your own family as much as possible. That means taking every short cut known to man.


Leave a Reply

